March 23, 2007

I Refuse

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:43 am by Dagny Taggart

I refuse to accept that the following narrative depicts normal human behavior.  Note – this actually happened.  Me?  Baffled:

Wednesday morning, I entered my building at the same time as someone who works down the hall from me.  I’ve seen him in the hallway before, but never exchanged more than the “D.C. nod”.  Since he was on crutches, it seemed appropriate to express sympathy, so I did.

Later that day, he stopped by my cube and asked me to have lunch Thursday (yesterday) at the little place across the street.  I agreed without thinking much of it, since I’m working on a fairly major project here, and am the primary point of contact.  I figured it was probably related.

But then, after the lunch, it happened.  “I’m getting the cast off this weekend, but maybe we could do something the weekend after that?”

“Um.  Well, I – I’m actually seeing someone.”  (yeah, not actually seeing anyone).

“Oh.  Well, then maybe we can get lunch again sometime.”

“Sometime… K thanks, bye!”

This post brought to you by the number 62.  Which, by the way, is also his age. 

Borrowing from Bill Maher, I’m going to institute a

New Rule:  If you can biologically be my grandfather, it is not, under any circumstances, appropriate to ask me out.  Especially in the workplace.  Anywhere, anytime. 

Color me ageist if that makes you happy – I’m okay with that.

Leave a Reply

