June 15, 2007

Smarter than Me

Posted in Past, Present, The Happy, The Who at 7:44 am by Dagny Taggart

By a lot.  Taller, too.  By about 8″.
Had surgery a couple weeks ago – healing up nicely, but bruised and moving stiffly.  Not surprising for someone born in 1943 – also a Taurus.

I’m obviously not the milkman’s kid – height, hair, eyes, and nose come from his mother’s side of the family.  Put a picture of me now, next to her wedding photo, and it’s like I went to a costume party.

He finishes the NY Times Saturday crossword every week – usually in under ninety minutes.  He’s an engineer with an MBA.

I inherited his conflict-avoidant nature, and would probably also whistle “Danny Boy” when I sensed tension around me – if I had also inherited his ability to whistle.

We both love “The American President” – “If you were a dork, you should apologize.  Girls like that.”

If a thing is worth doing, it’s worth doing right.  This extends to applying butter to pretty much everything consumed – evenly spread to just the right thickness.

Does not need a ladder to drywall a ceiling, provided one of my cousins can hold the sheet in place while he walks around them, reaching up with the screw gun at regular intervals.  Brobdingnagian home repair, indeed.

Drinks Moosehead beer if it’s available.  I’ll have one with him this Sunday, standing in the warm sun on a mostly green lawn while he makes note of bare spots and contemplates the best fix.

Miss you, Pop, and I’ll see you Sunday.  Happy Father’s Day.

In the meantime, take care of you.

Love,

Kid #2

9 Comments »

  1. KassyK said,

    I love this post. 🙂 Have a great day with your dad, I’ll be seeing my dad next weekend and I cannot wait.

  2. vvk said,

    🙂 Why is it that dads are always smarter than their kids? One would think that this would make the species dumber over time… but somehow it doesn’t.

  3. Dude, I SO did this post last year.
    http://haveyaseenlucky.livejournal.com/108039.html

    and then again today. Quit stealing my ideas!

  4. joebec said,

    i loved this post! have a great time with your dad on Sunday!

  5. KassyK: Thanks so much! Hope you have a great weekend – and I hope I talk to you before next weekend! 😀

    vvk: Your comment reminds me of Idiocracy, which I watched at the recommendation of a very cool person. I’m glad that increasing stupidity doesn’t appear to be happening. But, if we really were less intelligent, would we be smart enough to notice?

    HYSL: I’ll have my people call your people about alternative compensation for the royalties. Do you accept cookies as payment? 😉

    joebec: Thanks, I hope to! Hope your weekend is lovely, as well! 🙂

  6. freckledk said,

    Happy Father’s Day! Enjoy your visit home.

  7. Beach Bum said,

    Great post!

    My dad is definitely much smarter than me as well — it always amazes me. No one I admire more.

  8. freckledk: Thanks – have a great weekend, yourself! 😀

    Beach Bum: We should count ourselves lucky, I’m thinking. 🙂

  9. Lisa said,

    You are very sweet, kid # 2. 🙂


Leave a Reply

