June 19, 2007

Babelfish

Posted in Darth Vaguer, Nerdiness, The OCD, The WTF at 9:59 am by Dagny Taggart

I change my g-chat status message regularly, though am almost always too busy to chat, especially at the workplace, where I never do anything but work, ever.  Really.  The status message keeps those near and dear to me apprised of my general well being.  For example, when I had strep throat, I updated regularly with my temperature, e.g.:  “103.2 – I’m pretty sure I should be dead right now.”

I also throw up fun links, like this one, even though nobody I know does anything other than assigned tasks while at the office.

Those of you with the misfortune to be on my contacts list, are also somewhat familiar with my Babelfish obsession.  One of my favorite things to do is throw up a little snippet about my mood in general, but in a relatively uncommon language – and by uncommon, I mean, not taught in most American public schools. 

(Fine.  I’ll create a category for “Nerdiness”.  Sheesh).

Today’s?  “verdomd ik ben geschroeft”.  It’s Dutch.  I know that this may annoy some people, but there’s not much I can do about the whole heritage thing.  What can I say – I’m (half) Dutch.  Isn’t dat veird?

The phrase is fitting for a number of reasons, not the least of which is my upcoming work (mis)adventure, which will have me out of town until Thursday.  And?  This thing again.  Gets me every time.  Crap.

Sorry for being so very cryptic and vague today, and for the upcoming lack of post on the morrow.  If I’m not “trapped under something heavy“, I’ll be back on Thursday.

6 Comments »

  1. Beach Bum said,

    Hmmmm, babelfish translation of dutch to english gave me “flatlied refuse I am geschroeft”

    No idea what it’s supposed to mean! Care to translate?

    I’m personally not a fan of babelfish, the few times I tried, the translation from English to Portuguese (and vice-versa) has never been right…

    Hope everything is good with you and that you have fun on your travel, despite being for work! We need to schedule a night out soon 🙂

  2. Beach Bum: Yeah. Apparently the reverse translator doesn’t work so well! It means:

    “I am completely screwed”.

    We do, definitely. 😀 I’m hoping to not travel TOO much for the rest of the summer, so it should get a lot easier!

  3. gn said,

    No one does anything but assigned tasks? What about bloggers?! I have banned myself from gchat because it is just too, too distracting. I do, however, constantly e-mail and read blogs.

  4. My best friend Mike, has this friend who teaches college composition. The friend received a paper from one of her college students that was so obviously written by babel fish, and Mike made a little flash cartoon for it;

    http://www.mphtower.com/web/content/view/86/37/

  5. joebec said,

    we will you when you get unbusied! and i’m at work right now. please don’t tell my boss.

  6. cheerfulcynic said,

    I missed seeing your gchat status messages today. Mine was “what. ever. :-)” Whatever what? I don’t know. No one was frikken around to read it. Come back and entertain me. Please.


Leave a Reply

