July 31, 2007

Res Ipsa Loquitur.

Posted in Present, The Gnomes, The WTF at 1:27 pm by Dagny Taggart

(1) That annoying battery light is still blinking at me orange-ly even though I followed the directions on the Dell website.  I’m ignoring it, though some part of me is slightly concerned that I will get home and find a small heap of dust where my laptop used to be.

(2) My cell phone is refusing to send text messages unless I perform a series of yoga-like moves designed to position it where it receives 4 full bars of 1X signal, because apparently EV just will not do.  Do not ask me what the difference between these two things might be. 

(3) My alarm clock recently stopped beeping at the appointed time, causing me to move the iHome to my room to serve the wake-Dagny-up-at-4:30am function. 

(4) My digital cable signal has intermittently stopped working on random channels at random intervals, though I have done nothing to provoke it.

(5) My aged stereo will no longer play a CD of any kind, or even acknowledge the presence of a disc at all. 

(6) Just before I left for the beach, I got a haircut, which removed the last traces of red, leaving behind my natural color.  While at the beach, the sun worked some magic and lightened it a bit more.

Coincidence, I’m sure.

7 Comments »

  1. Handsome Boy Modeling School said,

    Hmmm while it is my staunchest belief that the only reason you haven’t achieved world domination…is largely due to the genetic affliction know as being blond.

    However, this sounds like you have a clear cut case of “nargles”. While I on the other hand have a clear cut case of being a massive dork [f’ing nargles].

    At least girls are intimidated by me because I know so much about giraffes. =P

  2. vvk said,

    1) That’s what you get for buying a dell. 😛

    2) EVDO should be better than 1x… even when EVDO have less ‘bars’ than 1x. You might want to try taking out your phones battery out for a few min and then putting it back in.

    3) 4:30 am?!? Only if you’re in bed before 10.

    4) I’ve come to enjoy living without a TV. 🙂

    5) Silence is golden.

    6) Sexy…

  3. HBMS: Well, the blond and the insanity, right? I think girls are amused by intimidated by you because you know so much about <b.nargles.

    vvk: Well, the Dell was perfectly serviceable when all I was doing was taking notes during law school/bar study. Maybe the problem is that my phone has been IN too many bars? 😉

  4. joebec said,

    i think you may be in the middle of a magnetic field. or you ARE a magnetic field. not sure which.

  5. Hammer said,

    Well, I don’t know about the other issues, but as far as #3 goes, it’s obviously God’s way of saying that you wake up waaaaaay too damn early.

  6. joebec: That’s an excellent, alternative explanation.

    Hammer: Ya think? I can’t imagine what the objection would be. 😀

  7. Hammer said,

    All I’m saying is that even when God was creating the Earth, all its critters, and all the surrounding firmament and whatnot, He never got up any earlier than 6:00 a.m., and even then He hit Denny’s for a Grand Slam breakfast before rolling into the office.


Leave a Reply

