August 8, 2007

Conversation the Third

Posted in *cringe*, Darth Vaguer, The OCD, The WTF at 9:15 am by Dagny Taggart

K:  Nooooboooddyyy knooowwwws… the trouble I’ve seeeennnn…

DT:  Ha.  ha.  You know you’re even worse at singing than I am, right?

K:  Yeah, I do.  Just like you know you’re sucking at life, right?

DT:  Has anyone told you how closely you resemble my mother?

K:  Hey now, that’s uncalled for.

DT:  (steely gaze)

K:  I was merely suggesting that perhaps you just need to get over yourself and stop wallowing.  It’s decidedly unattractive.  People want to be around cheery and happy, and not someone who’s sulky and tired all the damn time.

DT:  Well, but… I have been a lot more tired for no good reason.

K:  Fake it.  You made it through three years of law school, two bar exams, and I don’t even know how many times you’ve had to pretend to be happy to wear some godawful satin dress and carry a bunch of flowers around.  You’re a much better actress than you give yourself credit for.

DT:  And then what?

K:  I suspect that if you just pretend to be cheery, you’ll eventually get over yourself and just, well… be cheery.

DT:  That’s your brilliant plan.

K:  Yep.

DT:  Fantastic.

11 Comments »

  1. vvk said,

    “K:… People want to be around cheery and happy, and not someone who’s sulky and tired all the damn time.”

    Incorrect. If people wanted to be around “cheery and happy” all the time, then the happy dumb ditz character would continue to be popular much farther into life.

    People want to be around people who they think they can relate to, and people who they think can relate to them… But they resent things when the other person/people’s mood swings coincide with their own. When people are really happy, they don’t want to be around people who are either happier then them, or sad. They don’t want anyone stealing their thunder. There’s a corresponding reaction when they’re down.

    Screw it. Screw people. You don’t need nor want to care what people think. You want friends. Friends honestly care about your mood regardless of where their mood happens to be… and they’ll work with you on it.

  2. Lisa said,

    It doesn’t necessarily work that way. Whenever I’m down and people tell me to cheer up! go out! have fun! snap out of it! it totally makes me want to tell them to fuck off. And sometimes I actually do.

  3. I-66 said,

    Nobody knows, but Jesus…

  4. vvk: I don’t know about that. People remember Chrissy from “Three’s Company” fairly fondly.

    Regardless, I kind of think that sometimes, part of me being a good friend to those I so designate is refraining from inflicting my bad mood on them. Yes, one hopes that they’ll care if I’m upset – but once I’ve made that known, it’s time to ease up on the gloom and doom and ask about them, too.

    Lisa: Well, this is sort of a self-imposed cheering up, and I’m giving it a shot mainly because I haven’t yet. I figure, if it doesn’t work, then I can lock myself in my apartment with a ginormous vat of Nutella. 🙂

    I-66: I was totally remembering the bird from the Lion King (who doesn’t get a chance to finish the lyric), and not the Louis Armstrong version, but thanks! 🙂

  5. Alias Faux said,

    See the article linked to my name.

    The basic premise is that we make ourselves happy, or we make ourselves unhappy. I generally subscribe to that. You either choose to allow something to make you unhappy, or you choose not to. So, consequently, if you are somebody who seems to be generally bummed out, it’s because you bum yourself out, and if you’re somebody who tends to be upbeat, it’s because you find things to be upbeat about.

    Fortunately Dagny, you’re generally upbeat, so I wouldn’t bet on the bummation lasting:)

  6. Alias Faux said,

    Haha, WHOOPS!

    Wrong link!!

    Try this one instead:)

  7. Alias Faux: I have deleted the first link from your comment. Really. You should be ashamed. 😉

    My current malaise is of unknown origin, which is why I’ve decided that carpetbombing myself with forced cheeryness is the way to go. It’ll be great! 😀

  8. I-66 said,

    Actually, my friend, I was thinking of Princess Vespa from Spaceballs.

  9. I-66: Funny, she doesn’t look Drewish…

  10. Nato said,

    I’m not in any way suggesting you should fake being cheery so that others will like you. But trying to act happy, for your own benefit, may actually make you happier. I seem to recall reading that neurologists have studied Tibetan monks, and discovered that the reason they’re so happy is because they work hard at it.

    This doesn’t mean you should just fake the external appearance while remaining miserable inside. Instead, try concentrating on feeling happy. Remember all the things you have to be happy about — like, oh, being whip-smart and stunning and surrounded by good friends — and focus on ’em.

    Nutella, in measured amounts, may also help. (=

  11. joebec said,

    nobodddyy knows my sorrrrooowwwss… wanna go to karaoke sometime!?


Leave a Reply

