August 13, 2007

Why I Can’t Have Nice Things

Posted in *cringe*, Nerdiness, The Gnomes, The WTF at 10:24 am by Dagny Taggart

So I spent most of my weekend away from my computer, which was pleasant for the most part, though I get a little antsy when I can’t check my email regularly.

As it turns out, I probably couldn’t have done anything anyway.  My computer ate itself at some point, and started flashing evil, nasty, sharp pointy blue screens and freezing up or running very, very slowly.

I found this upsetting, because this machine is only 18 months old.  And it wasn’t exactly cheap.  And there’s a lot of stuff on here – my iTunes alone!

My apologies go to anyone I might have called in my initial state of panic.  I’ll try not to let it happen again.  And, my undying gratitude goes to the person who talked me down and explained that I probably hadn’t, in fact, turned my computer into a useless hunk of plastic by virtue of my mere existence.

I blame the gnomes.

In other news, I’ve got another 5-day weekend coming up, but this one will be spent working on various things.  First, of course, is a nursery.  For two wee ones.  I’m pretty excited about that.  The other, is two days of videotaped lectures to satisfy bar admission requirements in one of my states.  Since I don’t have to provide proof that I was paying attention, book recommendations are most welcome.  Something substantial, and moderately substantive, would be lovely.

5 Comments »

  1. Congrats on your expectancy, and TWINS no less!

    That phrase “This is why we can’t have nice things.” Everyone tells me I use it way too much.

  2. HYSL: Oh, boy. It’s Sibling who’s expecting, not me! Probably best for everyone.

    And frankly, it’s a great phrase. 😀

  3. Lisa said,

    Yikes – I just backed up all my photos and iTunes songs. Would suck to lose them all. Books – I just read a memoir called The Glass Castle and really liked it.

  4. joebec said,

    thats why i like using the work comp. that way if i screw it up i get it fixed for free!!

  5. Lisa: Thanks! I just finished that book too, actually, and really enjoyed it as well – might well be worth a re-read. 🙂

    joebec: Well, my Employer frowns on excessive use of work computers for Personal Business, so I’d rather not call attention to just how much I actually do while I’m there. 😉


Leave a Reply

