August 31, 2007

Cinema Dagny

Posted in *cringe*, The Funny, The Happy, the pretty, Uncategorized at 9:00 am by Dagny Taggart

No, no.  This isn’t me posting that video that I managed to finagle back from the ex-fiancé.  Not that any such video exists.  But if it did, I wouldn’t be posting it.  That’s not what this is about.

Moving on…

I have a fair number movies that I honestly think I could watch over and over again, until the end of time.   Some I’d put on just so I could quote the entire script as it was playing – kind of a “movie karaoke”, if you will.  Some are movies that I put on for the sole purpose of making myself cry buckets.  Some, I watch to laugh myself silly.  Some are simply old friends.

My current favorite, and I think it’s going to stay that way for a while, is Shopgirl.  It’s not lengthy, or complex.  It doesn’t tackle significant socioeconomic issues, but does an amazing job of character development.  Steve Martin is surprisingly subdued, and good! as Ray, and Claire Danes (my #1 girl crush) is superb.  It draws me in, makes me believe in the places and the people and it’s almost like I’m watching something that happened to myself someone I know.

An extremely close second is Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.  I’m fascinated by the interplay between the two main characters, and the subplots are sufficiently developed to add a great deal of depth to an already intense tale.

Stranger Than Fiction did quite a bit to satisfy my Emma Thompson fixation, and may contain the most romantic movie scene ever (even better than the end of WHMS)!  Well, at least for a girl who bakes quite a bit herself.  And, it introduced me to one of my all-time favorite songs, “Bottles and Bones” by Califone.

Speaking of When Harry Met Sally, I’d be remiss if I didn’t include this one.  To me, it’s incredibly well-written, and despite its wit and humor, includes a number of valuable insights into relationships.

And finally, lest you think I’m a complete chick-flick addict, I’ll include Braveheart and Last of The Mohicans, both of which provide excellent plot along with well-executed action and adventure, not to mention some seriously quotable lines.  Which, as you may have guessed, is an important factor in my movie ranking system.

One of the great things I love about movies is soundtracks, especially those with original scores.  One frustrating thing about the Shopgirl soundtrack, though, was that it’s just the original score.  So yesterday, I spent some time hunting down the remaining songs from the film, which led me to this guy.  He might be my new favorite, at least for now.

Have a great holiday weekend, everyone!  Hope it’s lovely.  And, should you happen to find yourself in the path of a videocamera, remember that the red light means it IS, in fact, recording. 

Not that I would know anything about that, at all.

14 Comments »

  1. I-66 said,

    Wait, wait, wait.

    You make yourself cry? On purpose?!

    I swear, I will never fully understand that.

  2. vvk said,

    Also remember that just because the red light isn’t on, doesn’t mean it’s not recording.

    Hmm… The only movies on that list that I remember watching are Braveheart and Last of The Mohicans.

    Oh well.

  3. Hey, you forgot about Krull. It’s only the timeless story of a boy, a girl, an evil alien overlord and the boy’s…sharp…pointy…thing. Ummmm *hmph*, maybe you needed to forget about Krull *shrugs shoulders*

  4. Lisa said,

    The “someone I know” feeling was too strong for me to love Shopgirl, but I agree with you that it was very well done. My make myself cry movie is The English Patient. It works every time.

  5. I-66: I usually don’t do it unless I’ve been sad about something for a while, but need a catalyst to achieve catharsis. And Eternal Sunshine serves that purpose nicely, most of the time. 🙂

    vvk: Thank you. Duly noted. 😉

    HBMS: Ow. Fell out of my chair. It was called a GLAVE. Just because a movie’s not in the top 5 doesn’t mean I’ve forgotten it… 😛

    Lisa: You know, I’ve never seen the English Patient from start to finish. I’ll go add it to the Netflix queue now. 🙂

  6. Virgle Kent said,

    Hey this has nothing to do with anything you wrote but um… are you a runner? Just sayin

  7. jinglypanties said,

    I just added a ton of movies to my queue (thanks to this post). ESOTSM is my go-to movie for a sob-fest, too.

  8. Tracy said,

    i’m new to your blog and i love it. i’m always interested to hear what other people’s fav movies are since the selection offers insight into the person. i’m putting shopgirl on my list to get around watching one day.

  9. Mr. Kent: Not *that* hardcore, but I ran 3½ miles this morning. Does that count? 😀

    jinglypanties: Glad I could help you out! Another one I forgot to mention here, but which deserves it, is “Big Fish”. Excellent movie, really. 🙂

    Tracy: Well, thanks for stopping by! And I think you’re right – you can definitely get to know something about a person by their choice in movies (and music, too!). 🙂

  10. WiB said,

    What, no Real Genius love? C’mon, DT, is there better movie karaoke, really?

    I spent the summer before college working at a video store, and had to find those few public-friendly films (i.e. no rated R) that I could stand watching day after day. And those are very, very hard to find. Probably the strangest/most obscure movie to make that list: Sneakers. For some reason, I just really like that movie.

  11. tracylord said,

    i love sneakers and real genius. nerdy computer guys are just hot. war games was good too.

  12. WiB: Oh, I have a special place in my heart for “Real Genius”, of course. It’s just that it’s not exactly thought-provoking. Well, except for:

    “I drank what?” 😀

    tracylord: I haven’t thought of War Games in forever. But then, you must have liked Swordfish, no? Yum. 😀

  13. KassyK said,

    Ah, Eternal Sunshine is up there as one of my favorite three movies of all time. 🙂

    And Amelie. I love that movie.

    In terms of the weird movie I can watch over and over…Being John Malkovich. 🙂

  14. Yojimbo
    Im Juli
    Lady Eve
    Cyrano DeBergerac (the later French One)
    Pee Wee’s Big Adventure

    I never get sick of those. I can watch them again and again and again and again. Someday I’ll write sophomoric reviews of them all, complete with my favorite screencaps, like I did with “Touch of Evil”

    I saw shopgirl, last year too, but it was the last movie I watched on the last night I spent with some girl who broke up with me via email the next day, so there will probably always be bad memories to go with that.


Leave a Reply

