January 26, 2008

I’m totally that girl.

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:58 am by Dagny Taggart

The one who tracks the dates, yo. Some of them are easy, some of them are hard. This one? Easy enough, as all I had to do was sniff through the archives to confirm my suspicions. And to visit an online dictionary to ease my fears – Blogiversary is still not a real word. Phew!

I’ve been using this space and this alias for about a year – and I swear, it is not now, nor has it ever been, my intent to bore anyone. Especially not to tears – stop crying, K!

So what I’d like to do today, is thank those I read for inspiring me along the way. Without further ado, Dagny’s Allstars:

January:
Ms. Jordan Baker makes me laugh. Frequently.

February:
When my sister shared her very, very new and wonderful news, I passed along some of Dooce’s wisdom.

March:
I learned the LMNts of finding a date in the blogger community!

April:
I’ve been following She Walks for some time now – this is just one of many reasons why.

May:
Beach Bum joined the community and provided some invaluable methods for pest unwanted suitor control…

June:
If anyone could pull of an orange mustache, I’m sure Lemon Gloria could. Have I also mentioned I kind of wish we’d met ages ago?

July:
The invariable well-dressed Virgle Kent provided the guy’s perspective on honest communication, and inspires me to even more respect for guys who are honest, even when they say things I don’t want to hear.

August:
Back to the inimitable Lemon Gloria for words of wisdom – it should surprise no one that I could have chosen a post of hers for every month of the past year!

September: It’s no wonder that the Cheerful Cynic has such a devoted circle of friends. Not only is she fiercely loyal and protective of her inner circle, but would you want to get on her bad side? Didn’t think so…

October: He who Throws Hammers made me a little more comfortable about having conversations with my alter ego.

November: The incredibly talented Nato began his NaNoWriMo effort – I’m completely addicted. Can I have more, please sir?

December: Dooce’s husband tells his tale at Blurbomat. I cried.

There are at least twenty others I wanted to include, people whose words have had an impact on my life, people I know, people whose sites I’ve just discovered and look forward to reading. For those of you that made me laugh just when I needed it most, or moved me to tears, who informed me, who shared themselves – thank you so much.

9 Comments »

  1. Martin said,

    Thanks for the birthday wish yesterday! Meeting you through the blogger community has been a true pleasure–and I read your stuff regularly still, even if I don’t often have time to comment.

    Hell, it amazes me that you can post as often as you do, given your insane schedule of late.

  2. Lisa said,

    I absolutely adore you. And you could never, ever be boring. Happy about a year! Big hug to you.

  3. vvk said,

    Hey now… don’t knock ‘Blogiversary’. It’s in the Urban Dictionary, and the Wall Street Journal has used it. It must be a real word.

    Anyways, happy Blogiversary.

    πŸ™‚

  4. JordanBaker said,

    Aw, shucks, man.

  5. Beach Bum said,

    Happy Blogversary! Glad you liked my how to lose a guy post, apparently, that’s something I’m really good at πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for linking other blogs as well, man, that Dooce blog is hilarious!!

  6. freckledk said,

    Happy Happy!

  7. Hammer said,

    Happy Blogiversary, Miss T.!

    The key of course is to get your alter-ego in the habit of bringing beer. That way, it’s not introspection – it’s happy hour.

    Good luck to your boys this Sunday!

  8. virgle Kent said,

    Man, it only gets harder, but you do it with class…. and a little bit of ass which is always a good thing…ass that is

  9. Martin: You’re welcome! I’m glad you still stop by – thanks for reading, and the happy thoughts.

    Lisa: Obviously, the feeling is mutual. πŸ™‚

    vvk: Well, who knew that Urban Dictionary and the WSJ would have something in common? Thanks!

    JordanBaker: Just giving credit where it’s due! πŸ˜€

    Beach Bum: I learn from the master. πŸ˜‰

    freckledk: Indeed – thanks! πŸ˜€

    Hammer: Yes. Hear that, K? Get on those Black Velvets! πŸ˜‰

    Virgle Kent: Well, thanks. (/blushing)


Leave a Reply

