February 22, 2008

The hole

Posted in Darth Vaguer, Present, The Happy, The Who at 6:39 pm by Dagny Taggart

So, there’s a guy who falls down a hole. The walls are so steep, he can’t get out on his own.

A doctor walks by, and the man calls to him, “I’m stuck in this hole. Could you help me out?”

The doctor writes a prescription, throws it down the hole, and moves on.

A priest walks by, and the man calls to him, “Father, I’m stuck in this hole. Could you help me out?”

The priest writes out a prayer, throws it down the hole, and moves on.

A friend walks by, and the man calls to him, “Hey, buddy! I’m stuck in this hole, can you help me out?”

The friend jumps into the hole, and the man says, “What’d you do that for? Now we’re both stuck here.”

The friend says, “No, we’re not. I’ve been down here before – I know the way out.”

~ The West Wing – Season Two: “Noel”

Thanks to all of my friends who jumped into the hole with me, and helped me find my own way out – by distracting me, keeping me company, or leaving me be, as I requested. That information I was waiting for? Turned out to be a map so’s I could find my way out.

Thanks again, lovely people. I honestly don’t think I could have done it without you.

5 Comments »

  1. Beach Bum said,

    I feel like I’m getting credit for nothing! Glad I could help even though I’m not sure I really did help?

    But as long as now you’re know the way out, it’s all that matters. No one wants you stuck down in the hole.

  2. Nato said,

    Hey, I’m just glad you’re OK.

    Maybe we should turn our ministrations to poor Throwing Hammers, whose latest blog post about flu-related sufferings makes me want to not leave my house until, oh, spring.

  3. WiB said,

    One of the rare occasions where being ‘good for nothing’ is actually a positive thing. I’ll take it. 🙂

    One small point: yes, you could have, but it’s good that you didn’t need to.

    And: you said, ‘hole.’

  4. Hammer said,

    Toby and Josh really did get most of the best lines, didn’t they? Happy to play our small little parts and glad to hear that you have a map in hand. You’d do the same for any of us – of that there is no doubt at all.

  5. […] One of these reasons, is that she doesn’t judge.  So when I start to experience a little of the Crazy, she hops into my crazy motorcycle’s sidecar and proceeds to guide me through the maze – she’s been there before, she knows the way out.  […]


Leave a Reply

