February 25, 2008

Posted in nutella, The Just a Little Sad at 1:45 pm by Dagny Taggart

Fin.

*edit*

I might, just maybe, have been feeling a little overwrought yesterday.  That hasn’t changed my decision – Taggart Transcontinental is closing down this little operation. 

Of course, I’m grateful for the people – the insights, the commentary, the snarkful witticisms.  Of course.  I’ll be doing my best to keep in touch (such as that is).

But much the way Dagny’s railroad stopped being her own, this space stopped being mine.  It likely seems otherwise, but I actually don’t like being Darth Vaguer all the time.  I want to write about the things that I know, my own way, in my own space.  But as many of you know – when people start to read, people you know in the real world, people involved in those places and events – well, nobody’s going to agree with your perspective, every time.

A few have managed to retain a sense of humor about the whole thing – have let me have my perspective, or have my fun slightly distorting a situation (hi, D & J!) for comedic effect, or to make a particular point.  Others have been hurt or offended by what I’ve had to say – regardless of whether that was the fault of poor writing on my part, or hypersensitivity on theirs, I heard about it. 

Let’s rephrase – the second I started to write my perspective, about situations for which I was and am more than entitled to have a perspective, I was subjected to diatribe.  And frankly, if I’m going to take that much heat for what I have to say, it’ll be from the agents and (hopefully) editors to whom I hope to submit a finished manuscript one day.

I wish I could say that I never meant to hurt anyone – I think, maybe once or twice, I did.  That was not the case yesterday, and anyone who tries to claim otherwise is, quite frankly, wrong.  I will, of course, continue to read the offerings of those who rock (see sidebar for a sampling).  But I strongly suspect that I’ll enjoy reclaiming my privacy, as well as the ability to confide only in those whom I trust.

It’s been a lovely journey – but I think it’s time for us to explore different paths.  Best of everything to you all.  And should you happen to see a rather glum-looking alter ego roaming about, you might offer her some Nutella. 

14 Comments »

  1. vvk said,

    ?

    *hugs*

  2. Beach Bum said,

    Don’t tell me that it means you’re done blogging?

  3. I-66 said,

    Um?

  4. Nato said,

    But… but… D.C. needs its Daily Dose of Dagny!

  5. xoxo

  6. Beach Bum said,

    I’ll miss reading your posts everyday 😦 And considering I now see you once in a blue moon, it’s the only way for me to know what goes on in your life.

    If it helps, you can bad mouth me, I don’t care. Would that convince you to stay??

  7. Lemmonex said,

    I shall miss you.

  8. Hammer said,

    This is a song for all the good travelers
    Who passed through my life as they moved along.
    The ramblers, the thinkers, the just-one-more-drinkers
    Each took the time to sing me a song

    – folk singer Ken Hicks

    Thanks for the stories, Miss T. You’re free now, and the world awaits. Get goin’!

  9. Lisa said,

    Dagny, my sweet, I like you in this space and I’m really going to miss you. That said, I don’t question you one bit. It sucks to have a space where you want to put everything and get it out, but have to constantly temper and censor your thoughts and feelings. You’ve done an amazing job keeping things vague but also real, but who wants to have to be vague all the time?

  10. vvk: Hopefully, the edit clarified. At least, as much as a Darth Vaguer edit could. *hugs* back. 🙂

    Beach Bum: I’m not going to badmouth you! And we’ll definitely keep in touch offline. 😀

    I-66: Um. Quite. 🙂

    Nato: Oh, the parts of DC that care to have it, will get their unadulterated daily dose of the woman behind the blog. Perhaps more than they bargained for! 😉

    suicide blond: Thanks for reading, and being totally fabulous in general!

    Lemmonex: Well, now that I’m totally addicted to YOUR blog, I’m certain you won’t miss me too much. 🙂

    Hammer: What a lovely, lyrical gift. Thank you! And, of course, you’re welcome. 🙂

    Lisa: Thank you so much. I envy your courage as much as your writing talents, and am not sure that I possess either in sufficient quantity to pull this sort of thing off the way I’d like. So I’ll try something else – but in the meantime, perhaps I can suggest another glass of wine? I have this lovely Reisling… 🙂

  11. Ryane said,

    Good luck!! I enjoyed your musings. =-)

  12. kerrie said,

    I don’t even know what to say. Maybe after I speak to you in person, I will. Whatever it is that happened, I hope you are okay now.

  13. KassyK said,

    Wow, I have been so caught up in my own drama that I am just stumbling on this now.

    Dagny–You were one of my first blog friends in the real world (remember that happy hour with the roses and champagne?!) and we have been through a lot of ups and downs through the blog–including some exes and lots of different hair colors for both of us…and I will miss you.

    Your email was so kind and shows again what a true and beautiful person you are.

    I will miss reading your honest and intelligent and FUNNY thoughts on a daily basis.

    Hopefully I can see you soon.

    Jersey misses you!!
    XO

  14. Ryane: Thanks so much! I’ll continue reading everyone’s of course – and may even have a little more time to speak up every so often! 🙂

    kerrie: I’m fine – thanks for checking in. And yes, looking forward to catching up in person! 😀

    KassyK: No worries – at all! You’ve got a lot on your plate right now. And of course I remember that lovely happy hour! We’ll keep in touch, of course – and I suspect that Things One and Two are not inconveniently located, should we want to meet up for drinks when I’m in the area.

    In the meantime, take care of you. *hugs* 🙂


Leave a Reply

