February 25, 2008

Ms. Dunn? Could you clarify that bicycle thing?

Posted in *cringe*, Darth Vaguer, The Just a Little Sad, The WTF at 9:58 am by Dagny Taggart

It really does seem to be okay for people to say things to women, that they’d never say to men.

Don’t get me wrong – what was said, was funny.  I mean, I laughed at the time, too.  And I’m not mad, because the comments were intended to be funny, nobody was trying to hurt my feelings or make the situation wierd.

But the way things worked out, well… .  I was the only female eligible to play, on our team, and I’m the only team member who didn’t.  I’m also the only team member on the receiving end of the following comments:

(1) Wear a miniskirt?
(2) When’s it my turn?
(3) If he doesn’t start playing better, you might have to give him a blowjob.*

It’s almost worse when one considers that the decision to have certain team members play certain matches was the right one.  Everyone chosen to play a match, stood a better chance of winning that particular match than I did. 

Like I said – I’m not mad.  I’m not even hurt – not in the way that implies the placement of blame for any injury, at least.  Just wondering if there’s a point to carrying the cue around, if the best contribution I can make doesn’t involve making shots.  The case is kinda bulky, and doesn’t quite go with my ensemble.

*No, seriously.  All of this was hilarious taken in the individual context for each comment.  No offense was intended, at all – these are good people who really didn’t mean anything by it.
2 Comments »

  1. Beach Bum said,

    I would be sooooo mad if that was me. Not because of the comments, mind you, but because they don’t let me play.

    I joined a volleyball league last winter with people I didn’t know. All the girls were made to be setters — I’m not a setter, I’m a hitter, a pretty good one at that. So I told them as much. So they would make the other girl switch to set, but then they would never set me, despite the fact that I hit better than all the guys, but on all the matches, not once they got a chance to see that for themselves. Needless to say, when the next season came around, I gave a big no, and left the team.

  2. Nato said,

    I’m sure the comments weren’t intended maliciously, but they sound

    1) rude,
    2) ruder, and
    3) incredibly classless.

    In fairness, though, a lot of my straight male friends would probably tell each other things similar to 3), but then, most of them work in theater…


Leave a Reply

