January 29, 2009

Interview with a Dagny

Posted in nutella, The Happy, The Why at 9:03 am by Dagny Taggart

La divine Lisa of LemonGloria was kind enough to send me these incredibly thoughtful interview questions.  Instructions are below, if you’d like to play along.

1. We all grow in ways small and large from year to year.  How would you say you are different now than you were five years ago?

There are a lot of little ways in which I’m different than I was five years ago.  I think the most significant change is probably my tolerance for people who aren’t healthy for me – I have very little, anymore.  In order to get there, I had to dismiss the notions of blame and fault, and recognize that I didn’t always need a specific action, one particular trait, on which to pin my justification for removing someone from my life.  It was enough that my happiness was lessened in connection with them, as a result of the combination of two incompatible sets of personality traits.

That goes hand in hand with needing to be liked a lot less.  As cliché as it may sound, a dearth of approval from one’s parents can lead one to seek approval from anyone and everyone.  But once one stops focusing entirely on being good for other people, one can start caring for oneself.  In my case, I think that’s made me a better friend to the people who matter.

Whew!  Thank heaven these are frontloaded.  😉

2. Describe your perfect day.

Well, my perfect day is decidedly more about people than it is places or activities, but I’ll try to be a little more specific than that.  It would probably involve sleeping in until about 10:30 in the morning, a leisurely breakfast in bed, and then some kind of physical activity with all of my friends involved.  A long hike, or skiing/boarding/snowman construction, or a day at the beach.  Something where everyone could have a great time and meet up for bursts of laughter.

And then a nice, long, late afternoon “tea” (Dr. Taggart’s word for a pre-dinner adult beverage hour or two), followed by a big, late dinner with everyone.  And then we all mingle, or not, as we choose.  All of my people in one place for one day, getting along and having fun.  Yep.

3. If you could have either the ability to fly or the ability to breathe under water, which would you choose?

Of course, I’d choose the ability to breathe under water.  Much stealthier, don’tcha know.  They’d never see me coming!  😀

4. If you were able to change one decision you made in the past, what would it be?

I’ve thought about this a lot.  There’s a party I really wish I hadn’t gone to, when I was 17.  And there’s myriad times when I’ve caused someone else pain, that I wish I could take back. 

A few years ago, I cut a friend out of my life at the request of someone I was dating.  As things happen, the relationship ended, and the friend and I got back in touch, only for the friendship to die out later for a plethora of excellent reasons – reasons that were mine, and no one else’s.

What I regret about that situation, is that the initial decision, the one that probably caused the most pain, wasn’t for good reasons.  It was a childish thing, on my part, to do what I was told, instead of thinking about it on my own and handling my friendships and attendant issues the way the person I’d like to be someday would handle them.

So if I could undo something, I think it would be that.

5. If you had to choose a flavor of ice cream that most fits your personality, what kind do you think you would you be?  Feel free to make one up if necessary.

Regular readers would, of course, expect me to say Nutella.  Because I do love Nutella enormously (pun intended).  However, I’m not sure that it really suits my personality.  Nutella, at least in the quantities in which I consume it (when I let myself), is associated with guilt.  And I hope I don’t make people feel guilty.

I think it would be an Ultimate Comfort Food kind of ice cream – a nice nutmeggy apple cider flavor, maybe with a salted caramel swirl running through it.  And oatmeal cookies on the side.  Can there be oatmeal cookies on the side, or is that cheating? 

If you’d like to play along, just follow these instructions:
1. Leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.”
2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions.
3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions. Be sure you link back to the original post.
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

5 Comments »

  1. Lisa said,

    I love this! I’m so glad you did the interview! And I love your ice cream – of course you can have oatmeal cookies on the side. That sounds perfect. I asked this last question of everyone, and I’m so interested to hear the personality differences.

  2. Lemmonex said,

    You need to make an ice cream sandwich with the cookies and that yummy sounding ice cream.

  3. My 0.02 cents said,

    “So if I could undo something, I think it would be that.”

    For the majority of us, the past is a regret, the future an experiment. We as mortal people can only do what’s within our scope. But how often do we merely marvel at our failures, as opposed to what we learn from them.

  4. vvk said,

    I’m with Lemmonex… go for the ice cream sandwich. That would taste awesome!

  5. Lisa: Thanks! I’m glad my answers matched your incredibly thoughtful questions. It was fun, too.

    Lemmonex: The ice cream maker taking up space in my wee kitchen seems to agree. Now I just need to get a new thermometer (for the custard) and figure out a recipe!

    $.02: I marvel at both my failures, and what I’ve learned from them. I find both worth contemplation.

    vvk: I think it just might – and it certainly seems the right time of year for a comforting, hearty dessert!


Leave a Reply

