February 19, 2009

Lucky

Posted in *cringe* at 10:17 am by Dagny Taggart

The next time I whine, just smack me, mmkay?

I *can* talk about money woes.  These are entirely of my own making – I am terrible at managing money and have a bad habit of shopping to alleviate a bad mood.  While I’m not entirely certain what it is that I’d need to do to be better at it, I must be doing something wrong, because all around me I see people who are able to take vacations and go out frequently and do all kinds of things, seemingly without any of the money stress I experience regularly.

And part of it might be because I’m lazy.   I don’t want to work a second job – it really is a draining experience when I do it, but at the same time, it’s a lot easier than any of the other options when it comes to atoning for my overindulgence.

And if I start to complain about it, would someone just remind me that I’m lucky to have the option of working extra to pay off my debts?  To have the opportunity to continue to live comfortably and take really fun trips?  So many people don’t have that option right now – I’m going to take it and make the most of it.

Even if that means kicking my own posterior from time to time.

7 Comments »

  1. Hammer said,

    Isn’t that K.’s job? Did you fire her or something?

  2. Lisa said,

    Um, no. I’m going to let you whine. Because one, you aren’t lazy. And you’re constructive. And I don’t believe that whining in and of itself is a bad thing. You get it out, you do something about it, and then you move forward. And also, I can’t imagine smacking you.

  3. vvk said,

    I second Lisa… whining isn’t a bad thing in and of itself. Sometimes it is down right healthy.

    As for money, I see some of my friends who spend money like it’s going out of style… but from what I can tell, they’re far more in debt than I am, and aren’t saving anything for retirement. I may not be taking as many vacations as they are now… but years from now, I’ll be a lot more comfortable.

  4. Hammer: I don’t think I have the requisite authority. And since I haven’t been keeping Nutella around the house, she’s been conspicuously absent.

    Lisa: Since you’re one of the people to whom I whine off-blog, I’ll have to take your word for it. Also, I may have to put you in touch with Sibling, who can help you with that whole smacking-visualization thing. 😉

    vvk: That’s a good point – and it’s definitely something to work towards. I just feel like I must be deficient in budgetary matters, since I’m not saving as much as I’d like, OR doing all of the things I want to do. Hmph!

  5. vvk said,

    I don’t know too many people our age who are saving as much as they’d like, but at least we’re saving something, and not raiding our savings for frivolous things.

  6. LiLu said,

    I made the hard decision to quit bartending a couple nights a week in order to enjoy my life more. Is it harder? Am I cheaper? Of course.

    But for me, more time was more important than more money. And it sounds like it is for you too. There’s nothing wrong with that.

    Plus, we’re at the age where we’re ALLOWED to complain about money! Enjoy it!

  7. Brian said,

    I wouldn’t call it whining. Whining is oh-woe-is-me, pity-me-please, etc, and it doesn’t sound like that’s the approach you’re taking. Observing that things are not ideal is not the same. If you are, as Lisa put it, constructive, it’s not whining. Not in my book, anyway.

    I’m with vvk, in that spending habits do not suggest a better situation, it just shows that they’re willing to spend money. I know several people who aren’t even contributing to their 401k’s, but find plenty of money to go out to dinner, etc. Looks fun now, but K will visit them later.

    And never mind the money thing, what do you mean you’re Nutella-less? Who are you and what did you do with DT??


Leave a Reply

