March 6, 2009

How to Provoke Me into a State of Happiness that is Amusing to Behold

Posted in nutella, The Happy, the pretty at 9:54 am by Dagny Taggart

My personal version of heaven involves all of my people* being in the same place, getting along with each other, with a constant supply of Big Jim’s pizza, Market Basket macaroni salad, grilled cheese, macaroni and cheese, Rio Grande fajitas, homemade mint & Oreo ice cream, and of course, Nutella.  Oh, and overstuffed jelly doughnuts from the International Bakery.  And cinnamon Munchkins.  And my godmother’s apple pie.

And an open bar. 

Ok, I think I’m done.  Maybe.

But there are a few things out there that make me happier than might be expected.

1)  Blankets, specifically those with satiny edging.  The perfect edging is actually some kind of nylon/polyester fabric.  I know two other people for whom this is a Consideration of Great Importance.
2)  The following movies:  The Princess Bride, The American President, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, Spirited Away, When Harry Met Sally, and, um… Save the Last Dance (don’t ask.  Well, feel free to ask, just be prepared for me to invoke the 5th Amendment).
3)  The following books:  The Princess Bride, Lamb, Joel Rosenberg’s Guardians of the Flame series, The Phantom Tollbooth, and the Bunnicula books (I never claimed to be normal).
4)  West Wing marathons.
5)  Cadbury eggs and candy corn.
6)  My father doing the chicken dance.
7)  People who smell like cookies.
8)  Clean, folded laundry.
9)  Lightning bugs.
10)  The penultimate darkest blue that one sees just before the sun completely sets on a clear night.
11)  Surprises.
12)  Daisies.

Also, the prospect of warm, sunny weekends perfect for running and opening all of my windows and welcoming spring.

Enjoy it, everyone!

 

*How much do I hate it when I leave these things dangling?  By “my people” I mean the 10-12 people I hold closest.  They’re a bit scattered, part of completely different “groups”, etc., so I’ve never had the privilege of having them all in the same place at the same time.  I suspect it could be fabulous.
12 Comments »

  1. Shannon said,

    Are we the same person? I love the Phantom Tollbooth – I read it whenever I have a really bad day.

  2. I-66 said,

    Inconceivable.

  3. Shannon: We might be – I cannot help but feel happier after reading that book.

    I-66: You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.

  4. Lisa said,

    Lovely list. And ohh, Bunnicula! I haven’t thought about Bunnicula in years! I also love getting into very warm, sitting-in-the sun cars on cold days.

  5. LiLu said,

    Suddenly I feel an urge to run to a bookstore and find out what the Bunnicula books are…

  6. Lisa: Oh, that’s a good one! Such a lovely feeling…

    LiLu: I’m not even sure if they’re still in print – but they are hysterically funny, even if they are properly shelved in the “juvenile” section of the bookstore.

  7. freckledk said,

    Does Big Jim’s deliver. That looks insane. And I’m really, really hungry right now!

  8. Hammer said,

    What’s on the stereo here?

  9. frekcledk:Big Jim’s delivers, but sadly, not as far south as DC. Should you find yourself in the Tyson’s Corner vicinity, I highly recommend grabbing a slice (or three) at Luciano’s, which is as close as I can get down here.

    Hammer: Oh, tough question! I’d probably want some Tori Amos from time to time, if not overly frequently. Ulrich Schnauss and Boards of Canada, the occasional bit of happy disco house, classical music with lots of brass, strings, and/or oboe (no vocals, please), some Rolling Stones, at least one or two Mark Kozelek tunes, and the occasional 80’s guilty pleasure. Honestly, it’s so much easier for me to name music I definitively *don’t* like. So… some of everything else? 🙂

  10. Hammer said,

    My iPod is loaded with Boards of Canada.

    My iPod has authorized you and I to be friends.

  11. Hammer: Then you’ll probably like some of Ulrich Schnauss, as well.

    Does your iPod have ultimate authority over all of your friends, or just the pseudonymous interwebby kind? 🙂

  12. Hammer said,

    Friendship decisions are made by a committee consisting of my iPod, my laptop, my coffee grinder, and my microwave oven. In the event of a tie, the deciding vote is cast by the gas pump at the Exxon up the street.

    As they are instruments of my will, so am I of theirs, and thusly the great cosmic circle of responsibility deflection is complete.

    Glory and amen.


Leave a Reply

