March 17, 2009

Jabberjaw

Posted in Nerdiness, The Happy, the pretty at 8:11 am by Dagny Taggart

I wasn’t allowed to watch much tv when I was little.  Which was fine by me, as I was adept at losing myself in a book at a very young age. 

One of the few shows I do remember (in addition to the Smurfs and the Snorks), is Jabberjaw.  That silly little shark, always so affronted that he wasn’t getting any respect.  “A woo woo woo!  No respect, no respect.  Nah nah nah.”

Yeah.  It wasn’t a mystery cartoon, that’s for sure.  Okay, so maybe it kind of was – I seem to recall some apprehending of villians or some such, but there was never any question why respect for the shark was lacking.

Perhaps he should have tried the suit I’m wearing now.  Because I bothered to get up early enough to blow dry my hair, throw on a suit (which fits well, thanks to my recent re-obsession with the gym), and apply just a touch of makeup, and it’s working for me.  People are getting out of my way, and that’s just how I like it.

The moral of the story?  Wear suits more often.  And, in the immortal words of Will Smith,

“I make this look good.”

4 Comments »

  1. LiLu said,

    The SNORKS!!!

    Aaaaand the next 15 minutes will be spent on youtube… awesome.

    My sister and I used to watch the Simpsons in the basement, with the remote always ready to hit “last” and go back to the nature show we were allegedly watching…

  2. Beach Bum said,

    It’s a sad sad world when things like the Smurfs and the Snorks need to be linked because some people might not know what they are… 😦

  3. Lisa said,

    I remember Jabberjaw! I had plastic Jabberjaw drinking cups at some point. We ordered them off some cereal box and they came through the embassy post when we lived in Egypt. This being the case, they took months and months to arrive, but man, was I excited about them.

  4. i loved jabberjaw… mostly i think because my mom hated him…
    they dont call em power suits for nothing..
    good for you!
    xoxo


Leave a Reply

