March 31, 2009

When you’re here, I sleep lengthwise…

Posted in Project: Fail, Uncategorized at 9:53 am by Dagny Taggart

And when you’re gone, I hit the snooze button.

While I was in law school, I got into the habit of a pretty crazy schedule.  I lived in the vicinity of the East Falls Church metro, had a membership at Gold’s, a paid internship at the FDA (which was still in Rockville), and 17 credits of classes.  I’d get up at 4:20 am, have a large mug of green tea, head to the gym for a workout, shower and change, park at school, metro to the internship (at my desk at 7:15), metro back for classes from 3 to 9:30, and then head home, study myself to sleep, and start all over.

I managed to sustain this pattern for a long time post-graduation.  Up really early, getting all of my mandatory activities done by the end of the workday, leaving my evenings free for frolicking (or, you know, an earlyish bedtime).  And during the period(s) of time where a significant other might have slept next to me, I was hyper-vigilant about getting out of bed and shutting off the alarm after the first beep.  I loved that I could rely on myself to get up at a certain time, because it made the rest of my day go much more smoothly.

But recently, in the past year or two?  I have become a SNOOZER.

I am adamantly ANTI-SNOOZE, so this is a problem.  Adding insult to injury, my cell phone/alarm clock will only let me snooze in useless 5 minute increments.  And yet, my willpower is gone, UNLESS someone else might be awakened by the repetitive beeping.

When you’re here, I get up when I’m supposed to.  And when you’re gone, I become the kind of person who hits the snooze button 35 times.

Are there any reformed snoozers out there?  How do I independently break myself of this vile habit?

14 Comments »

  1. Beach Bum said,

    I’m not a snoozer, but what I do is worse… I just change the time to whenever I want to wake up. Let’s say it’s 6:30am, but I feel like if I’m really quick I can get ready at 6:50? I change my alarm for that time. At least getting 20 uninterrupted minutes is better than hitting snooze 4 times…

  2. freckledk said,

    Put the alarm clock across the room, so that you have to get out of bed to hit the snooze button.

  3. Belle said,

    My freakin’ cell only offers the useless 5-minute increment snooze, too. Unfortunately, I’m an unabashed snoozer, so I have no tips to offer you for reform. But I definitely feel you here.

  4. Hammer said,

    Every morning, I smack my snooze bar around like it owes me fifty bucks. About the only thing that works is to go to bed earlier so you’re not so wrecked in the morning. Not ideal for night owls like me, but better than feeling like crap all day long.

  5. AliasFaux said,

    Holy crap.

    You are officially cool. Rift was the soundtrack to my first 2 years of college.

  6. Lisa said,

    Ahh, I’m a snoozer get up last minute-er, whirlwind out the door-er. Alas, I have no helpful advice.

  7. novasawatzky said,

    just go with it. snoozin’ is what i’m choose’n

  8. Beach Bum: That sounds like a potentially dangerous practice, indeed. But you’re probably right about the higher-quality sleep…

    freckledk: That is not a bad idea, and one that seems less hideous now that warmer weather (and thus, warmer floors) is on its way. Thanks!

    Belle: At least I’m not alone!

    Hammer: You’re probably right. Perhaps we should ask the gas pump how to warp our somnolent hours so that they are more effective?

    Alias Faux: NOW I’m cool? explodingdog, Monkton, and the best hypothetical date conversation of all time, and familiarity with a band ubiquitous during the 90’s is what makes me cool. 😛

    Lisa: Well, again – at least I’m in good company!

    novasawatzky: But how to silence the inner conflict between one who is SO comfortable in bed, and one who LOATHES those who press snooze? That, as they say, is the question.

  9. Jen said,

    I have no advice. I am a hardcore snoozer. I am somewhat suspicious of anyone who don’t snooze – no one should have that much willpower. My OCD freakshow husband-to-be is not a snoozer. Only for him would I try to break the habit, and so far I have had NO success.

  10. AM said,

    Best solution is a get job where it doesn’t matter when you wake up, which usually means you’ll need to be self-employed, which usually means you won’t be making much, which you usually means you’ll be stressed out all the time and won’t be able to get to sleep, so never mind, this is a terrible plan.

  11. Jen: Sibling once said that she thought her husband’s use of the snooze button should be prohibited by the Geneva Convention. And then, they had babies, and the snooze button has gone unused.

    Not that I think this is a viable solution for either of us, at least in the immediate future.

    AM: This leaves me exactly where I started, but more entertained, so thank you.

  12. Brian said,

    I might be a little bit worse, in that I don’t even snooze; I just turn off my alarm and just not get out of bed immediately. So sometimes, I look up again and I’ve lost 20 miniutes or something. I actually need to learn to use the snooze.

    And yeah, I used to be an out-of-bed-on-the-first-buzz person. Not a morning person, not by a long shot, but I was up right away. Now, not so much.

    I just swear a lot more in the morning now.

  13. Burt Frost said,

    Don’t fight the snooze. Go to bed earlier and maybe try bikram yoga. I’m hooked, wake up feeling great.

  14. Brian: Oh, I tried that once. I slept until noon. On a Tuesday. Waking up refreshed was great – the immediate stress of having missed an important meeting at work? Not so much. Ergo, snooze is better than oversleeping. Sigh.

    Burt Frost: Getting to bed earlier is not as easy as one might think, but I’m trying! As for the yoga – I’m interested in trying yoga, but bikram is a mite less practical than some of the other forms, given that I’d have to find a studio & couldn’t do it a home…


Leave a Reply

