April 10, 2009

Glarrrghhhh

Posted in Guilt, nutella, Project: Fail at 9:12 am by Dagny Taggart

I spent the better part of yesterday unable to feel the right side of my face, and a good portion of my left.

Two cavities – not a big deal, right?  They were my first ever, though, so I wasn’t sure what to expect.  And I certainly didn’t expect a few little nips with a hypodermic (at least, I only felt a couple, at first) to result in me being completely unable to ascertain if the right side of my face was still there.

I’d heard that if all went well, I should have no problem eating, even just a little while after the procedure was done.  So long as I wasn’t chewing ice, I’d been told, everything would be fine. 

Except that my dentist wanted me to give the fillings time to SET – more to the point, at least the 2-3 hours until the novocaine wore off.  Much like, when I’d dyed my hair black, the hairdresser wanted the dye to SET for 48 hours, during which I couldn’t wash my hair.  All I thought about for the 36 hours I actually managed to hold out was how badly I wanted to wash my hair.

It’s as though my dentist knew that this was the easiest way to drive me insane.  I might not have been hungry for several hours after my appointment, if he’d not expressly forbidden any kind of food touching my tooth for a two to three hour period of time.  I had errands to run, I probably wouldn’t have been home for a couple of hours anyway.

But tell me that I can’t eat, and you will send my blood sugar into the Pits of Despair in a screaming frenzy unmatched by even the most dedicated of harpies.

Thank goodness for the soft, creme-filled Easter candies currently available in most convenience stores. 

What?  It was an emergency.

3 Comments »

  1. sour said,

    and thus, the cavity cycle continues, unabated

  2. Lisa said,

    These were your FIRST cavities ever? Wow!

    Yes – go for the creme-filled Eastery goodness. And stock up – they’ll be gone soon! That’s an emergency in itself!

  3. sour: Well, it’s actually all my dentist’s fault. He shouldn’t have told me I couldn’t eat, thus sending me into a complete panic that resulted in poor dietary choices!

    Lisa: They were. And you raise an excellent point – I need to track down as many mini-cadbury eggs as possible! I think I have a mission for the weekend…


Leave a Reply

