April 15, 2009

A battle of wits, without the iocane.

Posted in Nerdiness, nutella, The Gnomes, The Happy at 10:14 am by Dagny Taggart

DT:  Wow.  You look… well…

K:  Like I’ve been steamrolled?  Yeah, I know.  Thanks.

DT:  And you smell…

K:  Like I’m highly flammable – I’m aware.

DT:  Care to let me know what’s going on?

K:  Well, not that it’s any of your business, but it seems I am hoist by my own petard

DT:  WOW.  So even YOU have karma?  I feel so much better now.  But… out of curiosity, exactly what form did this particular petard take?

K:  I was minding my own business, filling up the Karmann Ghia.  And out of nowhere, the gas pump starts spewing Confucian nonsense at me, interspersed with useful information about the 3-for-$2 special on Hostess products in the convenience store.   Something about pride, and then a soapbox – I couldn’t tell if that was philosophy or an advert of some sort –  and the next thing I know, my tank is overflowing and gas is spraying directly at me.  Not anywhere else, but Directly. At. Me.

DT:  Well, you should probably bathe before someone decides they’d like a cigarette.  I wonder if gas pumps like Nutella…

K: !!!!!!!

3 Comments »

  1. Hammer said,

    The gas pump is a wise oracle indeed, but much like your buddy K, it can get a little feisty when it’s not convinced it’s being taken seriously.

  2. Lisa said,

    You have a Karmann Ghia??? This is my favorite car ever ever. I didn’t know about them till I moved to San Diego, where it rarely rains and nothing rusts and cars live forever. If I could have any car and not have to think about safety, maintenance, blah blah blah, that’s exactly what it would be! And I’m not remotely a car person.

  3. Hammer: No kidding! I think she’s mostly recovered…

    Lisa: Sadly, I do not. Karma, however, does. Because she might be really annoying sometimes, but she’s got great taste.


Leave a Reply

