April 16, 2009

TMI Thursday: Let ’em Rrrrrip!

Posted in *cringe*, Past at 9:19 am by Dagny Taggart

Today’s TMI Thursday is brought to you by the ghosts of waistbands past.

Scene:  Homecoming, 2002

My first year of law school, I didn’t have a car – but I lived with other first years, so I pretty much always had a ride to class.  I didn’t have a gym membership, either.  And there was a fair amount of studying, and drinking beer.

That year, I managed to get a ride to Ye Merrye Olde College’s homecoming with a friend, and I was looking forward to hanging out with my old friends and having a good time.  Everything was going great!

I’d stopped by my friend Tinkerbell’s new room – she’d been my roommate the year before, and was then dating my ex-fiance.  Everything was cool, for the most part, except she’d occasionally say something that made it seem like she had some newfound hostility she was pointing at me – our friendship now had an uneasy undertone.  For example, she’d make little comments about how easy it was to go to Snoopy’s hometown, and how she didn’t understand why his previous girlfriends had such a problem with it.

For the most part, I did my best to ignore these little incidents, assuming that he was (as he’d done with me), driving her slowly insane by talking about his exes nonstop.  And since she knew me personally, it probably made her feel even less sane.

So this visit, I was just stopping by to say hi, see how things were going, and then I was going to move along and get ready for some partying that night.  I walked in, exchanged hugs, and we stood around talking for a bit – and then I noticed my shoe was untied.  I bent over to remedy the situation, and…

rrrrrrrip.

The sound was unmistakeable.  My jeans had ripped when I bent over, finally giving voice to their objections to the less active, more sedentary lifestyle I’d adopted over the past few months.  And Tinkerbell was right there, and had heard the whole thing.  And smiled.  Thankfully, I was able to tie my light jacket around my waist in true touron* fashion, and make my way back to my suitcase for less vented clothing.

The moral of the story?  Denying one’s weight gain is not going to help one in the long run.  Also… it’s pretty easy to find yourself competing, even if you don’t want anything to do with the supposed prize.

 

*Fellow Ye Merrye Olde College alumni will recognize this term as a combination of “tourist” and “moron” that perfectly described the idiots who interfered with our education during the warmer months.
4 Comments »

  1. Yeah, I put on over 20lbs my first year of law school too. I didn’t want to be one of those fat, bald lawyers in a nice car, so I took up walking everywhere and became one of those trim, sexy lawyers with a full head of hair.

  2. Lisa said,

    Ugh. Competition when the other person pushes it is hard to avoid. As for the pants – double ugh.

  3. HIN: I soon joined a gym and walked a lot more, too! And like you, I’ve still got a full set of functional follicles.

    Lisa: It really is – especially for someone as slightly type A as me. And yes, double-ugh on the jeans.

  4. LiLu said,

    This is why I now keep an extra pair of pants in my work desk. You just never know…


Leave a Reply

