April 24, 2009

Important

Posted in Past, Present, The Happy, The Why at 9:36 am by Dagny Taggart

It’s an interesting thing, how widely priorities can differ. By far the most interesting thing is what happens when we don’t know what we really want, and so we try other people’s priorities on for size. Judging by the therapy co-pay entries in my checking account, side effects include extreme neurosis and anxiety.

I was thinking about this, because I’ve been a lot happier lately. Since the major defining aspects of my life haven’t changed significantly, it seemed obvious that the shift was internal – I was looking at things differently.

A few weeks ago, I had a weekend that, had it happened last year, would have ended very differently. Because I would have handled it horribly.  Histrionics, hysteria, and MASS INSECURITY would have ensued.  And over the past month, a few other major events have occurred in my life – events that went unacknowledged by someone I’d thought of as a close friend.

And yet, I’m happy.  I suspect the improvement in the weather has something to do with it – the sunshine burning away the cobwebs of seasonal affective disorder, and whatnot.  At the same time, I think I’ve also learned to let the good loom just as large – to spend as much time appreciating what I have, as focusing on that which has gone awry.  It’s a balance that hasn’t come easily, and may take some work to maintain, given my natural tendencies.  But dear lord, is it worth it.

Because I’m happy.

7 Comments »

  1. Lisa said,

    I’m proud of you for the internal shift! It doesn’t come without a ton of work. Yay for happy! Yay for sunshine! Yay, you! (Clearly, sunshine helps me out a lot as well.)

  2. Virgle Kent said,

    I read this post while listening to Matt and Kim’s Lesson learned and it seemed to read right along with the music… interesting

    http://hypem.com/#/artist/matt++kim

  3. AliasFaux said,

    wait, what?

    who are you, and what have you done with Dagny Taggart?

  4. LiLu said,

    I’m so happy for you- that is a helluva realization and it feels damn good. These turbulent years are working themselves out, after all.

  5. vvk said,

    Yippy!

  6. Lisa: I’m happy for both of us, then! 🙂

    Mr. Kent: I’ll check it out as soon as I’m somewhere where I can have the sound on. Thanks for the tip!

    Alias Faux: I locked her in a room with a few jars of Nutella. She’ll be occupied for a while, at least. 😉

    LiLu: Thanks! They really are, and it was totally worth it.

    vvk: Yippy, indeed! 😀

  7. Beach Bum said,

    Reading this a few days late, but yay! You deserve happiness, so it’s awesome that it finally caught up with you 🙂


Leave a Reply

