May 13, 2009

Other than the vise on my head, everything’s great!

Posted in But I am... le sick, Project: Fail, The OCD, The Round at 8:44 am by Dagny Taggart

The mystery illness has migrated into my maxillary sinuses and unpacked its belongings, prepared for an extended stay.  Which, fine.  Honestly.  I’ve had 2-3 sinus infections a year since I was two, buddy.  You really don’t know who you’re dealing with.

In other news, I’m thinking about going for a run after work today, because these showed up a week ago, and I refuse to let random coughing jags force new shoes to go unworn for more than a week.  I realized I had actually completely lost my voice when I tried to thank the UPS man who delivered them.  At least I’m finally healthy enough to appreciate the irony.  And the shoes (I hope).

Also, I seem to have forgotten how to pack.  I need a taskmaster.  But one who doesn’t actually have to enter the apartment, as the gnomes completely took over in my absence, and it’s really just a seething mass of junk mail and work product.  And I don’t want anyone I know to see my apartment like that.

So if one of you (and/or your friendly neighborhood gas pump) could admonish me on a daily basis, I’d appreciate it.

Other than the vise that’s been clamped on my head, and the constant feeling that my ears need to pop, everything’s going pretty well.  Thanks for your patience!

4 Comments »

  1. Lisa said,

    OK, I read the last line as “my ears need to poop” – which of course gave me visions.

    Tis the season for all of this crap. Here’s hoping it all passes soon.

  2. miss. chief said,

    GET OFF THE COMPUTER AND START PACKING

  3. Hammer said,

    During my lunch break I consulted the wise and sage gas pump, but it was strikingly unsympathetic. It said, “If Dagny thinks she’s clogged up, she should see the ’75 Vega in garage bay two. Tell her to buck up, and if she runs out of Kleenex, paper towels are on sale for 89 cents a roll.”

  4. Lisa: I’m sure! Hehe. Indeed, may it, um… pass… soon. 😉

    Miss. chief: That’s exactly what I needed! Thanks for the prodding.

    Hammer: I will defer to the gas pump’s expertise. Though I think I’ll skip on the paper towels. One of the pieces of fatherly wisdom imparted by Mr. Taggart was, “Never skimp on tissues or toilet paper”.


Leave a Reply

