June 2, 2009

Kilter

Posted in *cringe*, Darth Vaguer, Guilt, Project: Fail, The OCD, The WTF at 7:49 am by Dagny Taggart

I’d like to get back on, please.

For the past two or three weeks, my life has been in such a state of disarray that adding one or two more things to the pile didn’t seem like it could make things worse.  And I don’t think it has, really.  I think that until I can take a hiatus from my second job, I’m just going to be a little more miserable than usual.

My things were mostly transported from the old place on Friday – I made one exhausted trip back to the old place to do things like take out my old air conditioner, roll up the old carpets and take them to the trash shed, etc.  My little car wasn’t big enough to haul everything I needed to take in that trip, so I wound up having to go back again, later.

I left my clocks there, by the way.  Me.  I left clocks behind.  *twitch*

I’m missing a dowel to my china cabinet, one that would support the final shelf that needs to go into place.  I find this paralyzing, for some reason. 

*twitch*

I’ve missed days of work, not been to the gym in a week, and really the only aspect of the new place that’s set up the way I’d want it to be is my bed.

*twitch*

Everything seems to be falling apart – I have no idea where I’m going to find work clothes for Thursday and Friday of this week, I nearly messed things up for my pool team last night, and I just can’t seem to manage to get to a place where I’m on-kilter again.

I know it will pass, and I know it could be so much worse.  I’ve not fallen victim to my winter malaise, I’m still doing everything I can to keep my commitments and even make new ones when priorities strike. 

But if someone could tell me how to get back on kilter, that’d be great.

10 Comments »

  1. Hammer said,

    The gas pump says a front end alignment will cost you $65. A life alignment can run a little more than that, but much like smoke coming out of any British car, things are rarely as bad as they initially appear.

  2. You should go meditate to center yourself again and relax a bit. IMCW has a good one in bethesda on wednesdays. They also have other ones in DMV.

  3. Beach Bum said,

    So I’m out of town this weekend, and trying to catch up on things during the week, as I just got back from vacation, but next weekend I’m free, if you need help sorting things and putting them into place.

  4. Alias Faux said,

    Please visit my website for helpful tips.

  5. Jen said,

    I have tequila.

  6. Sebastian said,

    Read a good book… *grin*

    Sorry, I saw your name out of the corner of my eye on another blog and thought to myself ‘Hang on, that rings a bell…’

    Ah, Atlas Shrugged! My girlfriend (at the time) made me read it. An interesting book, to say the least 🙂

    But yeah, read a good book. Calm solstice can be found within those calm, immutable pages! For bonus points, do it by candlelight with a tall glass of something tasty.

  7. Lisa said,

    Oh, sweetheart. You will re-kilter yourself. You just need things to calm down a little. Moving is so incredibly stressful, and you want to make things perfect immediately, because that’s how you are. And it’s a lovely quality for others, but it will make you twitch. I don’t have any good advice, but I can offer liquor and hugs, if that will help.

  8. Others have offered booze and hugs (both great ideas to my manner of thinking) to that I will add another suggestion: pool, not at your regular parlor, but some place else. Changing the venue can sometimes make the activity more cathartic. So there you have my advice – go play pool on different tables, with the booze and the hugs, yes that’s it.

  9. Hammer: Yanno, maybe the gas pump can help me with something. For a long time, my dream car was a Jaguar convertible. Which, as we know, is no longer quite the vehicle it once was. Can the gas pump recommend a replacement? I’d like something with those same classic yet sporty lines…

    HIN: That is an excellent suggestion – I may modify slightly and sign up for meditative yoga at the studio near my new place.

    Beach Bum: Thanks for the offer – seems like it’s a crazy time for all of us!

    Alias Faux: Hahahahahaha.

    Jen: So do I… somewhere. 😉 There will be tequila in our near future, I’m sure.

    Sebastian: As I’ve tried to explain approximately eleventy billion times, I’m a fan of the story significantly more than the politics. And I will probably get around to reading an excellent book just as soon as I can find the boxes in which my books are currently residing. 🙂

    Lisa: Liquor and hugs are always welcome!

    restaurant refugee: That’s also not a bad idea, and one I will probably take advantage of this weekend. Thanks!

  10. Hammer said,

    The gas pump says that affordable exclusivity combined with comfortable performance is a tough gig, and it is none too pleased with the boring look of BMWs or the whole Frankenfurious Mercedes approach to design. After much consideration, it recommends the Nissan GTR. Affordable, fast as hell, surprisingly comfortable, and just rare enough to not have people in DC immediately think it’s just another Corvette being driven by a midlife-crisis-having government contractor douchebag. Honorable mention goes to the Cadillac CTS-V if you can’t bring yourself to go turn Japanese. A Lotus would rock too, but “spartan” doesn’t come close to describing the interior, and to call the suspension “unforgiving” is to put it mildly indeed.

    Although the gas pump secretly longs for a Ferrari, it recognizes that you can’t really touch one (in this country anyway) for less than six figures. Besides, you don’t even want to think about how much a 20,000 miles service on those things costs. To put it in perspective, it begins a Ferrari-certified mechanic removing the ENTIRE engine. Not cheap, no-sir-ee. Hell, you’re better off rolling the dice with a custom-built Type 65.


Leave a Reply

