June 8, 2009

It’s not really the math.

Posted in *cringe*, Nerdiness, Project: Fail, The Why, The WTF at 7:29 am by Dagny Taggart

I admit it.  Math, honestly, does not give me that much of a headache.  If I were interested enough to pursue it, if it were a part of my job, I’d probably do just fine.  In fact, it seems that the rudiments of trigonometry are still lurking in the recesses of my brain, since it did come up at work, and I was able to find the answer with a minimum of refreshers from teh interwebs.

So it’s not the math, that makes my head hurt every time I’m faced with a financial decision.  I’m an intelligent person, and I should be able to do the same things that I see my peers doing, when it comes to making decisions about various insurances and bank accounts and mortgages and taxes and, yes… investing.

When I started my job, I opted to contribute the maximum that would result in matching from the government, to my retirement account.  When I was reviewing my assets for my mortgage, I was pleasantly surprised with how much had accumulated in my name.  Sweet!

And I have an IRA/mutual fund thing into which I dumped some graduation funds, that was selected for me by my dad.  So, I’m not completely without plans/long term savings.  But I do feel as though I’m not doing everything I should.

So, when given a book about financial planning and investing, a book that looks as though it might make sense, I started to read it right away.  I’m not very far in, and have already discovered things I didn’t know before.  And the finance-induced migraine has yet to set in.

But some part of me is still whining from the depths of my brain, tone muffled by passing through layers of logic and good sense:

“I don’t WANNA.”

So, yeah.  I’m pretty sure it’s not the math.

5 Comments »

  1. Alias Faux said,

    I always hated it, too, but in the last 3 or 4 years, as I’ve come to understand it, I find it more and more interesting (maybe just because I am imagining myself retiring and sailing around the world on a little sloop)

  2. vvk said,

    I’m fairly certain I understand it… and I’ve been putting away money for years. but I still find retirement planning to be dreadfully boring.

  3. Jen said,

    It’s a nice problem to have 🙂

  4. Lisa said,

    For me math is a huge problem. But beyond that, I find that stuff just horrendously dull, and my dad always did it for me, so I never had to think about it. I suppose I’ll have to start dealing with it now. And I definitely don’t WANNA either.

  5. Alias Faux: I think I will feel better once I’ve become more familiar with it. Right now, it just seems like the “Manhattan Museum of Art” post-slime-shellacking, from Ghostbusters II.

    vvk: Well, this is a bit beyond retirement planning, I guess – I’m trying to learn about more active investing, as well. I just find it all so impenetrable.

    Jen: It is a nice problem to have, that’s true. 🙂

    Lisa: I’m so glad you understand the tone with which I wrote that.


Leave a Reply

