June 11, 2009

I hate being right.

Posted in Darth Vaguer, Oubliette, The Just a Little Sad, The Why, The WTF at 8:23 am by Dagny Taggart

The flip side, oddly enough, is that I can usually figure out what’s going on in someone else’s head whenever that person is not interacting with me directly.

It’s uncanny.

The second real boyfriend I ever had, “Louie”, was a guy I dated for ten months in high school.  We broke up a few months before my senior prom, and kept in touch intermittently over the years.  I kept the contact sporadic because it always seemed like he’d steer the conversation in a far more romantic or sexual direction than I was comfortable with – and I didn’t want to have a confrontational conversation in case I was just reading too much into things.  But we’d instant message every few weeks or so, keeping each other updated about relationships, job changes, moves, etc.  We got dinner once, when his work took him to this area, and lunch one Friday when I was driving past his work on my way back to DC.

It was a pretty uneventful lunch.  He seemed preoccupied, made a joke or two about hitting up a motel on his lunch break that I ignored, and we parted ways with a quick hug that was, as usual, just a little tighter/longer than I expected. 

The next day, he messaged me at work to thank me for stopping by.  He said he’d been preoccupied with getting enough work done to cover his desk for his upcoming trip.  A trip he hadn’t mentioned during the lunch.  A trip to Tahiti, for two weeks.

I congratulated him on his upcoming marriage and watched him start and stop typing about fifteen times in the next two minutes.

And I was right.  I’d seen him the day before, messaged with him semi-regularly for years, and not once in the two years he’d been dating his now-wife had he mentioned her.  Not when he met her, not when things got serious, not when they’d moved in together.  And yet, as soon as the last geographical syllable escaped his lips, I knew exactly what was going on – right down to the month they’d started dating.  My brain gathered up all the details in a second, and I had the whole story right there.

Being right can definitely be fun – especially when someone thinks you’ve got no idea what’s going on.  It’s definitely worked to my advantage – being able to predict certain behaviors has helped me both personally and professionally.

I’ve made another prediction of sorts, though, and I’m not at all sure I’m happy about it.  But I’m pretty sure I’m right.

5 Comments »

  1. Jen said,

    Ew. I feel bad for his wife.

  2. Beach Bum said,

    The men you have dated… Seriously, you better have tons of good karma coming your way so that the universe can correct itself.

  3. Hammer said,

    The gas pump says that the garage could use people like you if you need some weekend work. It also thinks it may have a surprise or two for you down the road.

  4. You should buy a crystal ball and a bohemian outfit then start working the ren-fairs on the weekend. You will clean up (I get 10% for giving you the idea though).

  5. Lisa said,

    You are very, very good at accurately reading the unwritten. It is uncanny, for sure.


Leave a Reply

