June 15, 2009

Shut up and put your money where your mouth is

Posted in *cringe*, 8-ball - pool not narcotics, Darth Vaguer, The Aaaarrrghhhhh!, The Why, The WTF at 8:00 am by Dagny Taggart

… and I’m gonna be waking up in Vegas!

My pool team awesomely won two key rounds of competition to propel us to national championships in Vegas.

in August.  Apparently, I should start hydrating now.

But, Vegas!  I’ve never been.  How excited am I??!??!!!

Pool may become an annoyingly regular part of the blog.  I’ll try to continue my usual pattern of using aspects of the game as a vague analogy to the way people interact, lest you think that Darth Vaguer has left the building.  😉

But for now, you’ll have to settle for this lovely observation:

Apparently, a tendency to perpetuate stereotypes that make one look assholish and ignorant* thoughtless may have a genetic component.

/sets out to buy a sense of humor about this issue.

 

*edited to redact my poor choice of words.
8 Comments »

  1. Beach Bum said,

    Wow, you take pool way too seriously. But if it gets you a trip to Vegas (VEGAS!!!), who am I to judge? Yay!!!

  2. Beach Bum: I have two words for you: (1) “Volleyball”, and (2) “Cycling”. 🙂

  3. Beach Bum said,

    Dagny — I sooooo new that was coming! But neither has taken me to Vegas, pfft.

  4. vvk said,

    Awesome! Congrats to you and your team.

  5. Alias Faux said,

    You’re from New Jersey, you know better than to talk about italians that way.

  6. Congratulations on the win and good luck in Vegas.

  7. Beach Bum: Can’t volleyball take you to lovely tropical places?

    vvk: Thanks! We’re pretty excited.

    Alias Faux: When it comes to that sort of thing, no place is really all that far from Jersey.

    restaurant refugee: Thanks – we’ll need it!

  8. Lisa said,

    Yippee yippee yippee! It took me a little while to get back to Monday. So belated yay to you!


Leave a Reply

