June 18, 2009

The fun part

Posted in The Happy at 9:36 am by Dagny Taggart

So, the month of August is going to be amazing.  It’s funny, because I never plan vacations for myself, but I’ve managed to go to some pretty fantastic places because of others’ ideas.

I’ll take another coattail ride, please and thank you.

The first trip in August will be nuptuals-inspired, and will involve staying at an all-inclusive resort.  I’ve never done anything like this at all – never been someplace tropical for vacation (New Orleans almost counts, but not in December), and I’m very excited to experience it all.  Even if a good portion of “all” means that enjoying beautiful beaches, transparent turquoise waters, and adult beverages will be among my most movement-intensive activities.  I have a feeling I’ll handle that just fine.  Much like last year’s Big Fat Greek Wedding, this is an amazing experience that I probably wouldn’t have been able to have, had this gorgeous woman not planned it all and asked me to come along.

The second trip will be the pool trip.  A full week in Vegas, staying at a ridiculously nice hotel (I probably won’t tell Dr. Taggart where, exactly, as she’d be appalled by the extravagance made incredibly affortable by Hotwire).  Granted, I probably won’t be sleeping that much, and I’ll be indoors playing pool for a lot of it, but… I’ve never been to Vegas before.  And getting to see it this way, with prize money funding a good portion of the trip?  Means I’ll be able to truly enjoy myself without panicking about the lack of available funds back home.

I wonder which is more fun, though.  I mean, I’m getting so much more than the actual vacations themselves, because now I get to anticipate!  For over a month!  Wheee!

Getting work done between now and then, with Google’s siren song beckoning me towards dreams of restaurants, bathing suit shopping, a new cue (perhaps?), hairstyles….

I’m sorry.  My brain appears to have gone ahead of me, to scout out the territory.

3 Comments »

  1. Beach Bum said,

    No exciting trips for me this summer, aside from the labor day long weekend trip to VA Beach to run (or I hope) the Rock n Roll Half Marathon.

    Brazil-bound for Christmas though (after 12 lonely xmas here), so I have something to look forward to!

  2. Lisa said,

    Oooh, your August will be FUN! And Vegas, while hot, is so nice and dry. And luxury hotels can never be overrated. I am wondering, since you’ll be out there, can you add on any time and drive to southern Utah? It’s incredibly beautiful. Although I suppose that’s a little too indulgent, on the tail end of one vacation after another…

  3. Alias Fuax said,

    Having done my very first carribean experience this past year at an all inclusive resort, let me assure you, it kicks amazing amounts of butt.

    It was one of the 3 or 4 best weeks of my life.

    So much so that the lady and I are doing it again in December(and you know me well enough to know that I’m not somebody who does “extravagant” things).

    Have an awesome, awesome time, although I’d say you don’t have much choice in the matter, funness is thrust upon you.


Leave a Reply

