June 22, 2009

Something I should know?

Posted in Project: Fail, The How, The Where at 7:56 am by Dagny Taggart

“You should be able to get through a tough time with your confidence and self-esteem intact — no matter what others may say about you.”

This from this morning’s Express horoscope.  But, um… I thought I was having a good weekend, and a reasonably good morning?   Universe, if you’re trying to tell me something, you could just pass it along to Karma.  She’ll deliver the message with gusto, I’m sure.

I think, just maybe, that I’ve found a couch.  I went to the store, saw it, liked it even more than online, and it seems that I’ll be able to get it at a fairly reasonable price.  But answer me this, people.

How do you know if you want a whole couch covered in a color of which you have a 4″x4″  sample?  And here’s an even better question – how do you know you want a whole WALL, or ROOM even, covered in a color of which you have a 1.25″x2″ sample?

Maybe my horoscope is telling me that the “tough time” is going to be living with whatever chaos I create, while my friends whisper that I’ve got absolutely no taste at all.

*sigh*

5 Comments »

  1. Beach Bum said,

    Good luck! Picking up colors for my walls was tough, but like the result at the end… Not sure if I already offered, but I have all the supplies you need for painting (no need to buy everything over again): rollers (just need the covers), trays, electric sander, rags… I can also help paint. After painting my “faux suede” walls in my bedroom, I can tackle anything.

  2. Alias Faux said,

    That’s why I’m colorblind, none of that stuff matters to me:)

  3. Jen said,

    Having painted a ridiculous number of rooms a variety of ridiculous colors, you can either go with the “slap it on and hope you like it approach” (my method) or go with the sample cans (the OCD method that I would suggest for you). The paint store will sell you relatively inexpensive mini cans of your selected colors. Paint a patch of each on the wall and then look at them several times a day, to see what you like in various lights, and to see how they go with the floors, furniture etc. After a week, pick the one you like best and go with it.

    Congrats on finding a couch!

    PS – who cares what your friends think? You’re the one who has to look at it every day. Do what makes you happy.

  4. Brian said,

    The sample jars (a few ounces for like $4) you can get at home depot are fantastic. We went through a dozen, probably, while picking colors for various rooms in the house. One wall had no fewer than sample colors on it before we settled on one. And there may or may not still be one room that remains unsettled. Perhaps. But not for a lack of sample jars, that’s for sure.

    Also, Behr makes self-priming paint, of which we have become huge fans.

    My best suggestion for color selection is to pick something to build the room around; we used the bedroom furniture for one, and a photograph for another. The hardest choices were in rooms that weren’t going to be based on anything, because it can be hard to narrow the field (or color wheel) otherwise. Moods are good too, because they can help steer towards warm/cool colors, etc.

  5. Beach Bum: Thanks! I’ll probably mull it over for a while, but I’ll let you know if/when I need some supplies and/or help :o)

    Alias Faux: So one can just will away the ability to perceive color? Like, if you don’t use it, you lose it? 😛

    Jen: I did not know about these sample cans. I will investigate forthwith! Fortunately, I also have remnants of my carpet, so that should be helpful in color selection.

    Brian: I am enjoying benefiting from the experience of my more industrious friends. I like your suggestion for color-picking, too. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

