June 23, 2009

“Oh! Check the pillowcase!”

Posted in Darth Vaguer, Present, The Happy, The Why at 8:40 am by Dagny Taggart

Before I get started, I’d like to extend my condolences and sympathy to those affected by yesterday’s accident.  You are in my thoughts.

*Thunk*

“What was that?”

“I don’t know – oh, a pillow fell.”

“Hmph.  ssnnnrrrkkkkzzzz

<several hours later>

“I can’t find my phone – I’ve looked everywhere.  It’s not by my bed, not in my office, not anywhere.”

“Did you check your car?  The bathroom?  The mantel?”

“Yeah, I loo–”

“Oh!  Check the pillowcase!  Pillows don’t thunk!”

The phone was, in fact, in the pillowcase. 

So, when I was meandering through a bit of an existential crisis, I realized that I felt much the same as just a few days after my move, when severe thunderstorms threatened the power supply to the new condo, and I could not for the life of me find my flashlight.  I had packed it, of course.  And I’d meant to pack it someplace easily accessible, just in case.  Where had I put it…  Aha!

Opening the heavy box filled with (mostly full) bottles of adult libation, I found the flashlight wedged between them, having been the perfect size to take up the last remaining bit of horizontal space in the box, and thus keep the bottles from rattling against each other at all.

Applying this methodology, I went through my head, shaking out the dropcloths of insecurity and letting my actual knowledge speak for itself.  And there, under a particuarly paint-splattered specimen, I found my faith.*

And also, a bottle of Southern Comfort.

*And I don’t think I agree with the notion that faith destroys doubt, and that if you have doubt, then the best you can do is have hope.  I think that it’s possible to have faith, and have room for doubt as well.  One premise I’d offer in support is, if faith were an absolute antidote, then why the phrase, “Ye of little faith”? (emphasis added). 
5 Comments »

  1. “Applying this methodology, I went through my head, shaking out the dropcloths of insecurity and letting my actual knowledge speak for itself. And there, under a particuarly paint-splattered specimen, I found my faith.*

    And also, a bottle of Southern Comfort.”

    Incredibly well said. So much so, that I hate these kind of comments wherein the commenter just says “nice job.” But I am still compelled to write anyway. Well said.

  2. Alias Faux said,

    To each their own. In my mind, Faith=Trust. Therefore, that’s like saying “I sort of trust you”. Either you trust somebody or you do not. Now, you can trust them to do one thing, and not another, but what you cannot say is “I kind of trust you to do X”.

    Just my opinion, though:)

  3. humblecubsfan said,

    I always carry a flashlight in my pocket so I am never in the dark.

    http://hubpages.com/hub/Carry-a-Flashlight

  4. Great article. Keep on sharing 🙂

  5. restaurant refugee: The compliment is most definitely appreciated.

    Alias Faux: Indeed. And I think this is one of those situations where we mean the same thing, but our natural turns of phrase lead us in different directions.

    humblecubsfan: Not a bad idea, I suppose.


Leave a Reply

