June 24, 2009

For serious?

Posted in Uncategorized at 9:20 am by Dagny Taggart

“While you think quite highly of yourself, you may well have reason to believe the criticism offered by another.” ~ Express horoscopes.

Alrighty then.  Who let Dr. Taggart write the horoscopes?  Perhaps the universe is telling me that I have better things to do than read the horoscopes?

I’m just going to sit tight and think about this.  Should I ever own one, it will most assuredly be named My Preciousssss.

Though, since I’m thinking about what I should be reading instead, if anyone has good book recommendations, that’d be much appreciated.  Since it’s summer, any and all fiction is welcome, but I’d love to hear about some sci-fi/fantasy authors that are not named Terry Goodkind, Robert Jordan, David/Leigh Eddings, Joel Rosenberg, Melanie Rawn, or Weis/Hickman.  Of those, the last three are among my favorites.

Thanks!

10 Comments »

  1. Gabrielle said,

    If you’re interested in something that falls into the (horribly named) ‘urban fantasy’ genre, I’d recommend starting the Dresden Files series by Jim Butcher (no relation) – the first book is “Storm Front”; Charlaine Harris’ slightly sudsier take on vampires in The Southern Vampire series (which is the basis for the HBO series ‘True Blood’) – the first book is “Dead Until Dark”; or the blend of witches/vampires/werewolves/pixies in Kim Harrison’s The Hollows series, which starts with “Dead Witch Walking.”

  2. I really like “Yes Man” (although not so much for the movie). You will dig it. In the fiction genre, try something by David Payne. He’s the best writer that no ones’ ever heard of.

  3. Hammer said,

    The gas pump isn’t much of a novel devourer (credit cards, yes – novels, no) but I just picked up the following:

    http://www.amazon.com/Air-Have-Not-Geoff-Ryman/dp/0312261217 and http://www.amazon.com/Arsonists-Guide-Writers-Homes-England/dp/1565126149

  4. Gabrielle: I have no objections to that genre other than the utterly inappropriate name – thanks for the suggestions!

    HIN: Oh, excellent. I like a recommendation I’m not likely to get elsewhere!

    Hammer: That second option seems particularly intriguing – I’ll have to check it out. Thanks!

  5. Mike said,

    If you’re looking for science-fiction, I can, without reservation, recommend William Gibson (Neuromancer is the place to start) and Dan Simmons (starting with Hyperion, which is told Canterbury Tales style).

  6. Random Poster said,

    George R.R. Martin. A Song of Ice and Fire. It makes me sad that you are even a casual fantasy sci/fi fan and you don’t know about this series, but it makes me happy that I get to recommend it to someone who hasn’t read it yet. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Song_of_Ice_and_Fire

    Also Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell. http://www.jonathanstrange.com/

    And anything by Neil Gaiman, but start with the Sandman series. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Sandman_(Vertigo)

  7. Stephanie M said,

    I know this is a full month later…I just clicked over to your blog from Lemon Gloria’s, and I’ve definitely added you to my list of blogs to read!

    That being said…old things: I’m assuming you’ve probably read Terry Pratchett (Discworld), Elizabeth Moon (The Deeds of Paksenarrion), and Mercedes Lackey (Valdemar).

    Some of my more recent, slightly outside the genre but related favorites…Diana Gabaldon’s “Outlander” series, which is sort of a historical romance with some timetravel thrown in, but with the most excellent character development and startling personalities….Audrey Niffenegger’s “The Time Traveler’s Wife” which is about to become a movie, which absolutely scares me to death because I’m not sure they can pull it off….

    • Stephanie,

      Thanks so much for stopping by! And for the book recs. I read the Outlander series some time ago, which means it might be ripe for a re-read – never a bad option on a plane. I hadn’t heard of Elizabeth Moon before, so I’ll definitely look into that, and I’m not sure if I’ve read that Mercedes Lackey set (I think I read a collaboration she did with Piers Anthony a while back).

      Thanks again!

      • Stephanie M said,

        Definitely time for a re-read of Outlander series…a new one comes out in September. 🙂 Because the last one, at, oh, around 1400 pages isn’t enough to keep you busy for a while.


Leave a Reply

