June 29, 2009

Stet

Posted in Nerdiness, The Aaaarrrghhhhh!, The OCD at 9:20 am by Dagny Taggart

It’s Monday, and my day thus far has involved some excellent music, followed by headache-inducing questions of grammar that may involve me telling my (several pay scale grades removed) superiors that they are, in fact, wrong.

Then again, it might not.  Because if they want to edit my documents in such a way that the documents are less correct than they were when I last saw them, that’s their prerogative and I’m not one to stand in the way of my betters’ prerogative.

Instead, I’m going to perform our generation’s equivalent of sticking my head in the sand, and rejoin Mr. Schnauss in the land of iPodia.

Stet.  It’s like “om”, but for editors.

6 Comments »

  1. vvk said,

    Obviously it depends on the personalities of the people up your chain of command… but as a general policy I like to push back when people try to re-write my technical documents so that they are less accurate. If a document discusses technical matters for an audience that should be able to understand technical language, then accuracy is paramount.

    • It’s not so much a question of accuracy in this case. Most people wouldn’t see anything amiss, but it’s frustrating when *I* know the person is making a minor change to make it look like they’re doing something – and the change is wrong.

  2. Brian said,

    They don’t need permission, make their own decisions…

    • Ahhh, yes. You know, there’s a highway in Atlanta that’s named after him. This makes me concerned for the future of our nation.

  3. Hammer said,

    I watched a movie this weekend that made prominent use of this Ulrich Schnauss track and have spent the better part of the day doing battle with entrenched bureaucracy, so yeah, I think I sorta might have an idea where you’re coming from on this one. Woosa, darlin’. Woosa.

    • That’s a good song, too. I don’t even remember how I found out about him, but he’s hovered around the top of my most-played list for a while, now.


Leave a Reply

