June 30, 2009

Was it a dream

Posted in Nerdiness, nutella, The Why at 9:09 am by Dagny Taggart

Where  you’re stading on a pyramid in sort of sun-god robes, while thousands of naked women are screaming and throwing little pickles at you?  Why am I the only person who has that dream?

Speaking of pickles and other Eastern European tastiness… get thee to Chutzpah.  I tried the kugel (sweet, but not overpoweringly so), the latkes (unusually thick, but nice and fluffy, and perfectly crispy on the outside), and half of a patty melt.  And that patty melt?  Despite the ground beef, and the cheese, and the sautéed onions, I could still taste the rye bread.  I’m contemplating holding them hostage until they’ll either tell me where they got it or give me the recipe, because toasted rye bread with butter is possibly the only thing I might choose over nutella, if I had to choose between two things for the rest of my life.

Okay, okay.  Maaayyyybe macaroni and cheese.  But it’s close, is what I’m saying.

Anyway, this was supposed to be about dreams.  Lately, I haven’t been getting enough sleep to really remember mine, if I have them, but today I overslept.  And in oversleeping, I got to learn about what’s been bothering me lately.

See, in my dream, I’d just bought a new place, but the condo management people kept letting themselves in all the time, without letting me know or even knocking first.  They’d bring furniture in, or mess around with the utilities to make sure they were set up properly.  Of course, they’d do this early in the morning, so that I’d wake up and there would be a strange man in my room, messing with a cable jack.  Disconcerting, to say the least, and pretty clearly related to the fact that my place has lots of windows and no window treatments*, yet.

You know, I’ve generally considered myself a reasonably creative person.  And these dreams?  Are so literal.  I’m BORING myself.  I need more of a challenge!

Anyone have some really bizarre dreams for me to armchair analyze?

*Also, who invented THAT phrase?  Window treatments?  How I treat my windows? Interior designers scare me a little**, with how seriously they take this stuff.
**Obviously, I’m jealous, because I know that I have absolutely no talent in this arena and my place is undoubtedly going to look like it was decorated by a five-year-old.
2 Comments »

  1. Hammer said,

    The person who invented the term “window treatments” was somebody with an MBA who figured that if you called them “treatments” instead of “curtains” you could charge 20% more. As for dreams, ask me again when I have a better handle on what’s real and what ain’t – it’s been kinda blurry lately.

  2. Lisa said,

    Reading about all that food suddenly made me absolutely ravenous. Yum.

    Also, the first couple times I heard “window treatments” I really tried to figure out what kind of treating they’d had. Also, we jokingly considered putting a contingency on one of the (unsuccessful) house offers we put in saying we’d buy it as long as they for sure removed their window treatments.


Leave a Reply

