July 3, 2009

I need to brush up on my U.S. History

Posted in Nerdiness, Project: Fail, The Happy, The Who, The Why at 9:49 am by Dagny Taggart

I was at the gym the other day, mentally cursing the person who’d decided to use the elliptical placed just a hair too close to mine, despite the existence of many other free ellipticals in the room.  Trying to find something to take my mind off of the grouchiness that seems to take over my brain midweek, I settled on the flatscreen suspended in front of the machines, tuned to some news channel.  They asked the question,  “How many signers of the Declaration of Independence went on to become President?”

I picked the wrong answer, having conflated signers of the Declaration with framers of the Constitution.  It’s been a while.

Not that I’m going to spend the weekend studying, or anything, but I think I might use one or two of those coupons that various online booksellers have been desperately emailing me in an attempt to get someone to buy something, ANYTHING, to pick up a biography or two.  As I recall, Benjamin Franklin was an interesting fellow who once said something along the lines of,

“Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.”

That definitely sounds like someone I’d like to know a little more about.  And I bet a book about him would go quite nicely with a bottle or two of Dogfish Head’s 60 minute IPA.  Or maybe 90 minute, if I’m feeling adventurous.

 

Have a happy and safe 4th, everyone!  And if you think of it, think cool and MSG-free thoughts for Mr. and Dr. Taggart, who are currently sweltering somewhere in China…

4 Comments »

  1. vvk said,

    For the curious but lazy, the answer is two: John Adams and Thomas Jefferson.

    Also, Newsweek’s recent “Books you should read” list (http://www.newsweek.com/id/204300) lists “Benjamin Franklin” by E. Morgan…

  2. Brett said,

    I’m pretty sure that it is “wine,” not “beer,” that is proof. At least the restaurant in DC goes by that.

  3. Beach Bum said,

    The boy just read that book for his FSO studies, if you’d like to borrow it.

  4. Jen said,

    I’m working on BF’s biography right now “The First American.” I’m up to the part where he decided to settle down and marry Deborah Read, who was abandoned by the rat bastard husband she married after Franklin proposed but then broke off the engagement once he started getting some British booty, but, upon returning to Philly found out that he couldn’t score a bride with a better dowry. Then, two months after assuming a common law type marriage with Debbie, he gave her his illegitimate infant son to raise as her own.


Leave a Reply

