July 14, 2009

A helmet. And maybe a coupla bales of bubble wrap.

Posted in *cringe*, Nerdiness, The Gnomes at 8:21 am by Dagny Taggart

It’s been suggested that maybe I’d be well-served by buying a helmet.

To which I say, “As hard as this may be to believe, I haven’t hit my head on anything in YEARS.  Well, except for the occasional doorframe in Civil-War-era houses.  And the roof of my car as I was getting in that one time.  But there weren’t any bruises!”

As for the bubble wrap, well.  I might look into it.  Because it seems I can’t even walk down a short flight of stairs in gym clothes (including recently-broken-in New Balance running shoes) without slipping on absolutely nothing and getting down the rest of the way courtesy of gravity, who threw in a half-dozen bruises and a scraped-up wrist in for free.

Epitome of grace, that’s me.

6 Comments »

  1. Alias Faux said,

    Did the same thing this morning, going up the stairs.

    Lesson: Whatever you’re looking at in your hands is NOT as important as paying attention when walking up a spiral staircase first thing in the morning.

    I may or may not have broken the left side of my body.

    • That’s an excellent lesson. In my case, it would seem I need to move at roughly 1/3 my usual pace in order to achieve a significant reduction in injury.

  2. vvk said,

    I don’t know about you, but I’ve developed a fairly hard head over the years from hitting it on things… The most annoying are stairwells that have that a ledge in their ceiling near the bottom, because I go down stairs looking down, not up, and so often miss that ledge and hit my head against it. Argh.

    While I’m whining about stairs… I hate stairs that my feet don’t fit on. I helped a friend move over the weekend and carried a lot of stuff up and down stairs that were too small for my feet. Annoying.

    Anyways, back to work.

    • I’m not quite tall enough for those ledges to be a factor, except in the aforementioned historical homes. I have encountered tiny stairs before, and yes. They are Most Annoying.

  3. Lisa said,

    Owie owie ow. I’m not tall enough to bump my head on tall things, but I am very similar with the bumping and bruising.

    Also, I always wanted to have a party where one had to fashion and wear a bubble wrap outfit. You’re top of my list, should this ever happy.

    • That? Would be an EXCELLENT party. As for the clumsy, I wonder if it has something to do with one’s ability to get pretty far inside one’s own head?


Leave a Reply

