July 16, 2009

Insomnia

Posted in Project: Fail, The WTF at 10:04 am by Dagny Taggart

“Who needs sleep?  Well, you’re never gonna get it.  Who needs sleep?  Tell me what’s that for…” ~ Barenaked Ladies.

If I could have more than one night in a row of more than 5 hours’ sleep, that’d be great.  Thanks.

Any thoughts?  A little help?  I’m not worried about anything in particular (trust me, I gave THAT some serious thought, because it is me we’re talking about after all).  Work is pretty much fine, the place is lovely, nothing particularly new or stressful on the social front.  WTF is going on?

8 Comments »

  1. Shannon said,

    Allergies? If my allergies are bothering me, I wake up around 4:00 and can’t fall back asleep.

  2. vvk said,

    Ugh… you too? I couldn’t fall asleep until after 4:30am last night. Argh.

  3. Jen said,

    Mmmm. Celestial Seasonings Sleepy Time tea. I don’t know if it actually works, but it smells heavenly.

  4. Beach Bum said,

    Nothing to worry about? You’re worried that everything is ok and just waiting for something to not be ok?

  5. Alias Faux said,

    You’re evolving to not need as much sleep.

  6. don’t go to bed unless you’re going to sleep. If you wake up and aren’t sleepy, then go to the other room and read or watch tv, but don’t do it in bed. if you only go to bed when you sleep (or do the boot knockin) then you will subconciously associate your bed with sleep and being in bed will trigger sleepiness.

  7. Lisa said,

    UGH. I am a person who needs a lot of sleep, even though I’m running on very little lately, and it’s HARD. If you aren’t waking up all fretty-mind-racey, then I do wonder if it’s something environmental? Are you too warm at night? Is your new bedroom too bright? Do you need some background noise? We have a HEPA filter that both improves my allergies and gives that nice white noise that helps filter out random nighttime noises. I feel like all those things affect whether or not I can stay asleep.

  8. Shannon: I almost wish – at least then I’d know the *why* of it. But the allergies have been (suspiciously) absent of late.

    vvk: Ugh, indeed.

    Jen: It is tasty, and definitely smells good, but no dice on the sleep inducement.

    Beach Bum: Ya know, I thought of that too – but I don’t think so!

    Alias Faux: Judging by the quality of my work product lately, I think it’s safe to say that’s not the case.

    HIN: That’s definitely something to keep in mind – I might be slightly guilty of reading in bed from time to time. The books are banished!

    Lisa: An air filter might be just the ticket – I had a window unit air conditioner at the old place, and maybe my brain misses the noise. Hmmm…


Leave a Reply

