July 21, 2009

Have I told you about the laundry?

Posted in Nerdiness, The Gnomes, The Happy, The How, The OCD at 8:26 am by Dagny Taggart

I hear it all the time, people complaining about laundry.  And yes, it *can* be a pain sometimes, I suppose, if you don’t have a washer and dryer in close proximity to your abode, and/or if the ones that are available only take quarters and it’s just HARD to accumulate quarters in sufficient quantities for two weekly loads.

But to me, that’s really all background, it’s prep work.  Laundry is actually kind of awesome, at least the tail end.  When you take it out of the dryer and it’s all warm and smelling like fabric softener and then you start folding it, making the towels all the same size, putting them away in the linen closet.  You’re a superhero, battling entropy by restoring order to your universe.

So the next time everything seems all haphazard and you find yourself reenacting some comedic movie scene in which the female protagonist is rendered a sobbing mess who doesn’t know WHY she’s crying but is clearly not going to stop anytime soon, try doing some laundry*.  Because later, you might find yourself getting into a lovely-smelling, slightly warm, clean and comfortable bed, and you might find yourself getting 8 whole hours of sleep for the first time in weeks.

*It’s been suggested that cleaning out one’s car and taking it to the car wash can have similarly soothing results.
3 Comments »

  1. Lisa said,

    Yah, people hate laundry, and it’s never been something that bothered me. Except for lately, I am an avid laundry-doer. However, I’m terrible once it comes to folding. Sorting, washing, drying, all good. But then it tends to sit in clean piles in the bedroom…

  2. Like Lisa, I am a horrid folder, like I just don’t do it. I have been known to go buy more underwear and or socks, and would love to use a wash/dry/fold service if I could find one that delivered.

    Though I do wholeheartedly embrace the restorative power of a freshly made bed.

  3. vvk said,

    hmm… I don’t mind the folding. I find that it clears my mind. Actually doing the laundry though… painful. Replacing the sheets on my bed. Annoying. blargh.


Leave a Reply

