July 30, 2009

I was going to write something all deep and thinky…

Posted in *cringe*, Nerdiness, Past, The Aaaarrrghhhhh!, The Gnomes, The Why at 8:49 am by Dagny Taggart

…and then my shoe broke.

I normally exit Metro Center and walk the rest of the way to work in the morning, ensuring that I get at least some exposure to daylight.  My work shoes of choice are generally oxfords or something along those lines, thus facilitating a relatively comfortable jaunt and a professional look without exposing the fact that many pants, including a number of “long” styles, aspire to “cropped” status on my frame.

So there I was, walking along in my shiny black J. Crew oxfords that have served me well for so many years, mentally reviewing the presentation I’d give shortly after my arrival, and then…

FLAP.  FLAPFLAPFLAPFLAPFLAP.

The entire back half of my left sole had come unattached.  My oxford was now a flip-flop that could be heard for miles.  Handy if I were stranded and trying to use Morse Code to signal for help, not so useful when I was expected to stride purposefully into a meeting and justify my existence.

FLAPFLAP.  FLAPFLAP.

I tried shuffling along the way I’ve seen the thong-wearing masses do, to little avail.  Nope.  I had to limp along, stiffening my left leg so that it barely came off the ground during each stride, muffling – but not eliminating – that ridiculous, thwacking FLAP.

fleerrp. fleerrp. fleerrp.

This?  Was not so much the improvement I was looking for. 

Wondering if I’d be better off calling the various CVS locations nearest my office in an attempt to find *actual* flip-flops that would HAVE to be less humiliating than the (likely gnome-sabotaged) shoes that were clearly out to RUIN MY CAREER, I had an epiphany.

Like any good commuting woman, I have a spare pair of shoes at the office.  Unlike most, my spares are a lovely pair of steel-toed, steel-shanked workboots (in a lovely matte black finish, thank you).  Given the way my day started, these might be the safest way to finish out.

2 Comments »

  1. Lisa said,

    Oh, Dag, shoe issues can always upstage deep and thinky. Can you glue them – would that hold temporarily? I have a drawer of office shoes. Cute enough for the office, but not so cute that I want to wear them out on weekends or at night. No steel-shanked workboots in there, though.

  2. Lisa: Well, I’m going to take these to a cobbler to see about having them really repaired. But stopping by my local inexpensive shoe purveyor and picking up a couple pairs of office shoes is not a bad idea at all.

    I kind of wish you could have heard the flap, though. Truly comical.


Leave a Reply

