August 12, 2009

Back

Posted in The Happy, The Where, The Why at 8:12 am by Dagny Taggart

There are worse things, I suppose, than having to return to DC from paradise.   I just can’t think of any of them right now.

No, that’s a lie.  I was ready to come back.  A consequence of my need for routine and familiarity is that if I don’t have enough of either of those for extended periods of time, I start to get snappish and bitchy, and I was on the verge of both of those by around 3:00 Monday afternoon.

And there were definitely things I missed about home.  One of which may have made my journey from the airport back to my place significantly easier. 

Here’s what I learned while I was away:

1)  SPF 30, applied every 3 hours, is enough to keep my body from burning, mostly.
2)  Spray cans of SPF 30 get empty a lot faster than you’d think.
3)  Having double-jointed shoulder blades comes in really handy when you’re trying to rub non-spray SPF 30 onto your own back.
4)  People on vacation walk slowly enough to drive an East Coast girl insaaaaaaaane.
5)  One should beware of crafty bartenders at all-inclusive resorts, as their ability to concoct beverages that are 50-60% rum but taste like virgin Hi-C is unparalleled.
6)  Working out in Bahamian heat, even at 8 o’clock in the morning, will give you a newfound appreciation for Bikram yoga.  And staying hydrated.
7)  Raw conch is surprisingly tasty. 
8)  No matter how beautiful the scenery, majestic the sunset, or impressive the fauna, nothing beats the sight of a truly happy friend.

3 Comments »

  1. Lisa said,

    Hi lovey! I’m glad you had a good time, and it was just long enough that you’ve returned with fabulous memories. And mostly no sunburn.

  2. Beach Bum said,

    This made me smile 🙂 Yay for truly happy friends!!

    And I have always said that the secret to not burning is reapply, reapply, reapply. If I go in the water, I reapply it again, even if it was only applied an hour ago.

    And the spray cans? Waste of money they get emptied out in one or two days!

    Can’t freaking wait to see the pictures!

  3. Lisa: Oh, but it’s good to be back. Did I mention the part where internet access was *extremely* limited?

    Beach Bum: Well, the spray cans might empty out quickly, but it’s nice to not have to worry about streaky coverage! My pictures are few and limited, and trapped on my camera until I can find the cord, but I’m sure there will be many excellent photos from others!


Leave a Reply

