September 3, 2009

Photoshop

Posted in *cringe*, Nerdiness, The Gnomes, The Happy at 7:16 am by Dagny Taggart

IMG_0961

What you do not see here, is the rest of your wind-buffeted author against a Nevada skyline backdrop.  The photo, in its entirety, was taken with my camera.  It was supposed to be taken with me facing into the wind, so that my hair would be blown behind me.  That, at least, was my plan.  The photographer had other ideas, and as mendicants can’t be choosicants, I took what I could get.

When I saw the results, I was… peeved.  I was hoping for a good recent photo of myself, the sort I might send along to Dr. and Mr. Taggart, whose lamentations of infrequent visits are touching (albeit frustrating when they forget that I AM supposed to visit and make plans to go out of town.  Ahem).

And then I realized that had I faced into the wind as originally planned, the dry Las Vegas winds would have fused my contacts to my eyeballs and caused a Grimace Of Unusual Freakishness (G.O.U.F., for those of you keeping score at home) anyway.

I contemplated meddling with it in iPhoto – the strands across my face aren’t so VERY much in the way, but the Seussian coif might be “fixed”. 

But this photograph, in which a rueful smile curves my lips, is entirely too me, to be fiddled with.  And I’m starting to like it that way.

2 Comments »

  1. LiLu said,

    I can’t even see it, and I kind of love it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

