September 8, 2009

Oh, hi.

Posted in *cringe*, The Why, The WTF at 7:46 am by Dagny Taggart

I knew I wasn’t going to get *enough* sleep, no matter what.  I didn’t get to bed until 12:45-ish, and was planning on getting up around 6:15 at the latest, anyway.  Even with an ideal 15 minutes to actually fall asleep, 5 hours and 15 minutes is definitely shy of what I’d call a full nights’ worth.

What I wasn’t expecting, was not getting to sleep at all.  Not even a little bit.  I resolutely got into my most comfortable position, closed my eyes, and remained immobile for half-hour segments of time.  I drank room-temperature water.  I moved to the couch, hoping that a change of scenery might help matters.

At 4:30, I gave up, got dressed, and went to the gym.  It wasn’t until I had gone two or three stops on the metro that I started to feel sleepy.  It wasn’t until a stop or two after that, that I began regretting not having more than one diet Red Bull at the office, despite the vileness of that concoction.

And now?  Now… I feel like this (image courtesy of the now-defunct Moral Turpitude blog, I am in no way, shape or form this artistically talented on my best day):

rough

4 Comments »

  1. miss. chief said,

    wow, that sounds…pretty lame

  2. vvk said,

    ugh… not being able to sleep sucks. :-\

  3. miss. chief: Well, yeah.

    vvk: The worst part was getting annoyed at myself for not being able to do something *that* easy. I mean, it’s sleep! How hard is it to sleep?!?!!

    Getting frustrated? Not conducive to sleep.

  4. vvk said,

    falling asleep is not “*that* easy.” As a regular insomniac, I can attest that quite often, it is *that* hard. :-\


Leave a Reply

