September 10, 2009

Meme

Posted in The Happy, the pretty, The Who, The Why at 9:30 am by Dagny Taggart

Pilfered from Restaurant Refugee – thanks for the thoughtful questions!

  1. It’s not fall in DC (or your city of origin) until I’ve smelled a fireplace fire. 
  2. Kelly Preston’s character in the movie For Love of the Game expresses her need to escape NYC because “Summer’s almost over, and I feel like I missed it.”  What do you need to do in the waning days of summer for it to feel complete? Have a meal cooked entirely on the grill.
  3. The person I know is wrong for me but about whom I frequently think after a break-up is the one who taught me that I could be amazing, no matter what.
  4. The US Tennis Open, one of four Grand Slam events in that sport, is currently in the quarterfinal round.  If you could only attend one major sporting event what would it be? A Stanley Cup game.
  5. Assuming that you write an anonymous or partially anonymous blog, by what non-physically identifying characteristics might you be identified in a bar? Overuse of multisyllabic words in casual conversation, a strong positive reaction to the availability of Dogfish Head 60 minute IPA or Abita Light.
  6. Most blogs cover some sort of niche – personal, political, dating, culinary, etc.  What topic, if any, would you like to address on your blog but doesn’t fit into your niche?  I’m not sure that there’s a specific topic – but it would be nice to be able to be specific and name names just once, without consequence.
  7. If you could manipulate the time space continuum and give as many as three pieces of advice to a younger version of yourself, what advice would you give and to what age of you?  When I was ten, I’d have told myself that I really could play sports, so long as I was careful.  When I was eighteen, I’d have told myself to take time to figure out what I really wanted, rather than deciding that anything had to be better than where I was.  And when I was 24, I would have taught myself that I am solely responsible for the life I have.
  8. Who among your friends do you really wish had a blog because their stories, or perspective on something ought to be shared?  She knows who she is, and may or may not have HAD a blog at one point in time.  Let’s get on that, shall we? 
  9. If you were to take an e-cation (vacation from the trappings of our electronic world,) and assuming that employment obligations would allow it, how long of a break could you take? What would you miss the most, the least?   I think I’d take at least 6 weeks.  I certainly wouldn’t miss work-related nonsense, but I’d miss reading.  My hope would be that I’d be more inspired to communicate in person or over the phone (assuming that “electronic world” doesn’t include analog voice communications).
  10. On September 11th of this year, I will be attending a couple of parties and am somewhat conflicted by the fact that this ignoble anniversary shall pass with it being just another day in the eyes of many (and in some ways my own eyes as well.) Thoughts? While I think that it’s important to remember both tragedies and their heroes, I hope that it’s something that we can do more regularly than once a year.  And part of me is glad for those for whom September 11 is/was a day of celebration – a birthday, the day they fell in love, the day they got a job…
  11. How high are your walls?  Who was the last person to scale them?  What tools should would-be climbers have on their belt? My walls are concentric, increasing in height as one approaches the center.  The innermost is… formidable, as one might expect.  That tool belt should most definitely include honesty, first and foremost.  And patience, and consideration.
  12. The sexiest thing a wo/man can say to you (or has said to you) is “Let’s stay here a while longer.”
3 Comments »

  1. Beach Bum said,

    Not sure if it’s the same friend, but the “cheerful cynic” totally used to make me laugh out loud! She should start writing again!

  2. Jen said,

    Holy crap! They make Abita Light?

  3. […] Seeking John Galt […]


Leave a Reply

