September 15, 2009

If you would be so kind…

Posted in Advice I have no business giving, Guilt, Present, The Happy, The Just a Little Sad, The Why at 9:54 am by Dagny Taggart

Alternate Title:  Baz Luhrmann and Mary Schmich got it right.

…as to think good and pain-relieving thoughts in the direction of the land of milk and honey, where Mr. Taggart is recovering from an operation to take some cancer off his face, that would be much appreciated.  This is the first of several such operations, and took 7 hours.  They gave him Tylenol (supplemented by Dr. Taggart with a bag of frozen peas to alleviate the pain and swelling), since apparently they’re terrified that a man in his mid-60’s whose usual drug of choice is Di-Gels is going to become a Dr. House acolyte should they give him anything that might, you know.  Alleviate the pain and swelling.

On the other hand, I’m profoundly grateful to the dermatologist who dutifully looked at the mole my dad was concerned about, pronounced it large and menacing but not at all cancerous, and then paid extra close attention to some irregular patches of skin that were hanging out alongside his mouth, eye, and hairline, seemingly minding their own business.

I’m going out to get some moisturizer with a higher SPF.

3 Comments »

  1. Beach Bum said,

    Good luck!

    My dad has had some of those removed from his back/legs/arms (he has been told many times by dermatologists: “You have good skin, you were just born in the wrong country”). For this reason, it upset me to no end last time I went to the dermatologist for a full-body check up, as I had been told to do yearly back when I was in NYC, and the doctor just said “ok, so lift your shirt on your back” and that was it! I don’t like being naked at the doctor’s office either, but it has to be done! And him ignoring my request AFTER I told him I like the sun AND I have family history.

    That made me give up for good on DC dermatologists…

  2. I have been keeping a good thought for your Dad all day. I do hope things are well.

  3. Beach Bum: Well, there’s got to be a good one somewhere around here. I’m starting to get the feeling that it’s maybe something we don’t want to give up on…

    restaurant refugee: Thank you so much – he seems to be recovering well, by all accounts. I just don’t like the idea of my dad in pain, with a black eye!


Leave a Reply

