September 16, 2009

You don’t say.

Posted in Advice I have no business giving, Nerdiness, The Aaaarrrghhhhh!, The WTF at 8:46 am by Dagny Taggart

So, I mentioned picking up a Dale Carnegie book in response to my ongoing “softball” concerns.  Because it was cheap, and shipping was going to be the same anyway, I also ordered that bastion of 1990s post-Reagan yuppiehood by Covey.

Apparently, it’s all about everyone else.  It’s all about talking about what everyone else wants in an effort to get what you want.  If you make someone feel special, they’ll buy what you’re selling!

I understand that this technique might work, that it might get you pretty far with a good percentage of the population.  But it seems like it could lead to some pretty disingenuous behavior, the sort of thing I’ve come to find abhorrent, recently.  Maybe I’m just a cynic, but I’d much rather deal with someone who came right out and explained what they needed and why, rather than treat me like a five year old who wasn’t getting enough attention at home.

This is far more my style.  Which might well explain why I need the books.

5 Comments »

  1. Brian said,

    Perhaps you might find Sun Tzu a little more up your alley? And the military field manual on psychological warfare?

    It’s really just a different path to the same goal, no?

    And if nothing else, there’s always the aluminum bat. Just saying…

    • I was thinking Machiavelli, actually. 😉

      It’s a different path, but to me, it’s a more honest one. And how can I help my affinity for bats! We know where I’m from…

  2. A boy named BLVD said,

    “Apparently, it’s all about everyone else. It’s all about talking about what everyone else wants in an effort to get what you want.”

    ~The artist formerly known as my neighbor

    While the above passage is an abomination, the rub is that it’s half right. It is indeed about everyone else. “All” about everyone else is ironically enough, a tad decadent. We do need to forget about ourselves and our intentions in order to appreciate what and who is in front of us. Least nothing ever really be genuine or natural. Encounters with the new and undiscovered can quickly degenerate into the self serving, the examples of that are plentiful. The sacrifice of what we want doesn’t give way to futility, you seem to know this.

  3. Alias Faux said,

  4. Jen said,

    To BLVD. Ummmm. What?


Leave a Reply

