September 17, 2009

To Whom It May Concern

Posted in Darth Vaguer, Oubliette, The Just a Little Sad, The Why, The WTF at 7:21 am by Dagny Taggart

I’m censoring myself now, and it’s because of you.

Not to belabor the point, but you seemingly left the door at least unlocked, if not actually open.  If I wanted in, don’t you think I’d at least have tried the knob?

I realize that having a little space out here on the interwebs means that anyone can stop by and read, but …

I’m uncomfortable.

So now we go back to full comment moderation.  And self-censorship, which kind of sucks the joy out of this for me.

Sigh.

9 Comments »

  1. Beach Bum said,

    This sucks! I don’t like self-censorship…

    *hugs*

  2. Lemmonex said,

    Sigh. I hate that people force others to do this. I am sorry.

  3. vvk said,

    ugh… that sucks.

    Instead of entirely censoring yourself, might password protect some posts help with the issue? That would at least let you get it out in written form.

  4. Jen said,

    Whatever. Speak your mind. And if the interloper doesn’t like what s/he reads, that’s not your problem.

    Uh oh. The interloper is me, isn’t it? Awkward!

  5. Brian said,

    It was the aluminum bats thing, wasn’t it?

    I have such a hard time judging the appropriateness of sports-equipment-based quasi-metaphors. Need to work on that.

    Sorry. Won’t happen again. Promise. If it does, you can hit me with an alu- er, never mind.

  6. miss. chief said,

    ugh. just start a new blog and don’t tell them about it. don’t censor yourself!

  7. Beach Bum: I’m not a huge fan of it either :/

    Lemmonex: Thanks!

    vvk: That’s certainly an option, and one I’ll consider. I’m just annoyed that I have to.

    Jen: No, it’s not you. There aren’t many things I wouldn’t say bluntly, to your face. And I don’t really care what anyone thinks about what they read – it’s the fact that it’s read at all that squicks me out.

    Brian: Well, I *did* substitute a hockey stick for the bat, when I was preparing to take your advice… but I have no objection to sports-based metaphors. Quasi or otherwise. 😀

    miss. chief: Well, vvk’s suggestion, I think, is preferable. I’m disinclined to move just at the present moment. But I’ll think about it!

  8. xoxo ..


Leave a Reply

