September 21, 2009

Once upon a time…

Posted in *cringe*, Advice I have no business giving, Darth Vaguer, The Happy, The How, The Why, The WTF at 7:41 am by Dagny Taggart

…fairly recently, actually, I was seriously pissed off* at someone who is a relatively new friend.  And while the story behind that may someday be the plot basis for a lovely telenovela**, the principle over which my hackles were raised was something akin to the following:

By the time you are in your mid-twenties, you need to at LEAST take responsibility for your actions, and make choices fully anticipating that people will hold you accountable for having made those choices.  If you still haven’t learned this by the time you’re 30, you’re going to have some serious issues.

So, for example, if you choose to screw someone over, you can’t claim that someone else “made” you do it.  You get to choose which people you’re going to deliberately piss off.

The flip side of that, is that you choose a lot of other things, too.  You choose how you’re going to treat people, how you’re going to react to them.  This weekend, I chose (after a protracted battle with my various gripes and unhappinesses) to change my mindset and behave accordingly, because I remembered that part of getting to be a grownup meant that I get to decide how I’m going to act, regardless of external factors.

As an added bonus, it paid off.

And the way I want to act, is not just in a way I won’t be ashamed of later on down the road.  My new gold standard, is to behave in a way I’ll be proud of, should I happen to remember a situation five years after the fact. 

 

*Quelle surprise, right?  I’m working on a process to inject myself with Happiness Brine on a regular basis, I’ll keep you posted.
**Oxymoron alert!
Leave a Reply

