September 23, 2009

And I am slightly less intelligent for having done that.

Posted in *cringe*, Project: Fail, The Gnomes, the pretty, The Process, The Round at 7:50 am by Dagny Taggart

No, really.  My brain is sluggish and stupid today – moreso than usual, and I honestly think it’s because I spent over two hours in the gym last night.

I was lucky enough to be the beneficiary of some fitness expertise, and I took advantage of it with a fairly intense leg workout.  I’d had a small snack before heading off to the gym, and had a full water bottle with me.  I was ready – or so I thought.

When I left the gym at nearly 11:00 pm, I knew I had to hightail it home and shower, then hop into bed.  But my body was SCREAMING for food, and I was incapable of formulating a plan.  Thankfully, scooping protein into a glass of milk and fork-stirring was within my capabilities, as was showering and then grabbing a bowl of healthy cereal. 

Significantly less successful were my attempts to compose coherent replies to the day’s personal correspondence.  Tidying up afterward wasn’t happening, either – that was going to be a job for this morning, after my hand had stubbornly hit snooze on my alarm a time or two more than usual.

Apparently, my legs have decided that if my brain is going to make them lift and stretch and hurt, they’re going to exact revenge on my brain by robbing it of whatever nutrients it uses for higher function.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

3 Comments »

  1. miss. chief said,

    that’s funny but sometimes i feel that way too after i get a good workout

  2. Jen said,

    Did you refill your water bottle?

    I’ve heard, from people who are far more knowledgeable in this area than I could hope to be, that, in addition to protein, you really need a decent amount (15 to 20 grams) of fast absorbing carbs (gatorade, etc – not fruit or whole grains) immediately after an intense weight-lifting regimen. Something about your muscles burning glycogen, and needing to restore those levels so the muscles can repair themselves properly. If that’s true, then it’s especially true when you’re working legs, which is much more demanding on the body than the other muscle groups.

    I don’t know. Any excuese to eat suger works for me.

    Beer has carbs, btw.

  3. miss. chief: Well, I’m glad I’m not alone!

    Jen: Does this mean there might be situations in which drinking beer might make me healthier? Might even make me smarter? I think I am on board with this plan.


Leave a Reply

