September 28, 2009

Oh, yeah? Well… I can see my floor!

Posted in *cringe*, Nerdiness, The OCD at 8:41 am by Dagny Taggart

This weekend, I accomplished something verging on the miraculous – I cleaned the front half of the condo.  And by that, I mean I can now see the entirety of the floor that is not covered by actual furniture and one six-pack of paper towels that hasn’t found a home yet, and none of this was accomplished via my usual methodology:  shoving the mess into the bedrooms.

I also did three loads of laundry – something that proved nearly as difficult a task as sorting through months of unopened mail, as every single person in my condo complex apparently needed to do laundry, too. 

I know, I know.  You are BESIDE yourselves with envy over the excitement that is my life.  But this might give you a little insight into the mind of someone with OCD. 

There isn’t much that we get to have control over.  I had almost no control over my life until I left my parents’ (and I know a lot of people say, “But you’re not SUPPOSED to have control, you’re a kid” but this was beyond your average high school senior’s lack of control).  And then I didn’t exercise control over a good portion of my life until later, partly because I didn’t know how and partly because it was scary.

Anyway, I’m currently in a couple of situations over which I don’t have a lot of control.  Thankfully, the condition of the condo isn’t one of them – and so this weekend was a very inexpensive trip to the therapist for me. 

I mean, yes – there is definitely something to be said for the smell of fabric softener and warm sheets and clean towels – but if you know someone who seems to have a bizarre affinity for doing laundry, you might look a little deeper to see if they’re upset about something.

4 Comments »

  1. Alias Faux said,

    This is true.

  2. Beach Bum said,

    Well, I think a girls night should be in order. Because THAT is something we can control!

  3. Lisa said,

    Next time – or anytime – bring your laundry or just yourself if all laundry is under control over here and I’ll pour you big glasses of wine and we’ll chat.

  4. alias faux: So… you concur?

    Beach Bum: If only my uncontrollable schedule would fix itself…

    Lisa: Gladly! I like how I’m being poured big glassES of wine… 🙂


Leave a Reply

