October 1, 2009

What a crock

Posted in Present, Project: Fail at 8:20 am by Dagny Taggart

Every week, I tell myself I’m going to eat Really Healthy Food.  I’m going to go to the gym at least 5 times, I’ll get enough sleep, and I’ll have chicken or tuna for dinner almost every night.

Yeah.  So I usually manage to get some intense exercise 5 days a week – sometimes I’ll go for a run outside if making it all the way to the gym isn’t possible.  But because I regularly fail at getting enough sleep, when I get home from that intense exercise, I have zero patience for food.  None.  Not gonna happen.  And so, yet another bowl of cereal accompanies yet another protein shake, and then I wind up feeling sulky and having some cookies or something because I didn’t have a REAL dinner, so I’m entitled to caloric compensation.

And so, I think I need to invest in a crock-pot.  Something that I can set up when I leave for work in the morning, that will create a lovely soup or stew that I can throw over rice or egg noodles, that will help me feel full and happy.  This makes me feel old, and like I might be setting myself up for a fire hazard.  Does anyone else use these things?  How likely am I to set my adorable wee place on fire?  What’s the longest I could leave something in there?

But planning 8-10 hours ahead is a start, right?  Right?

8 Comments »

  1. Shannon said,

    I have one, and use it on Sundays to make something I can take for lunch throughout the week. Most recipes are 10 hours or less, but you could make food in the evening, have it cook overnight, then put it in the fridge in the morning to eat for dinner.

  2. Alias Faux said,

    Honestly, days.

    We ate out of a crock pot ALL THE TIME as kids, and it was usually good.

    You can even make really good spaghetti sauce and chili, as the flavors combine all day.

  3. KBella said,

    You can definitely leave them on low for hours, and they make your house smell delicious all day. Like you, I find it really difficult to cook during the week so in the fall/winter months, it’s all about the slow cooker.

  4. Beach Bum said,

    I wouldn’t have the time to set up anything in the morning, but it’s a really good idea!

    Alternatively, you can get a pressure cooker to do the same job, just way faster. That way you can have everything ready in the fridge, get home and turn on the pressure cooker and in half an hour you’ll have your lovely meal.

  5. vvk said,

    My mother makes some amazing soups in the crock pot… she’s on a very tight schedule in the morning, so she puts in all of the dry stuff (beans, etc.) and preps all of the fresher stuff the night before, and then just dumps everything in and adds the appropriate amount of water in the morning. I’ve took her old crock pot when she got a new one… but I need to learn how to use it. :-\

  6. Jen said,

    Mmmmm, crock pots are the best. I have a great cookbook if you want to take a look at it. You’ve inspired me to pull mine out. Nothing is better than coming home at night after a long, chilly day, and walking in to the smell of some savory chili or stew.

  7. I get paid to make food for people and I regularly use my Slow Cooker (if you call it that, it doesn’t make you sound so much like an octogenarian.)

  8. Shannon: That sounds like a great idea – thanks!

    Alias Faux: So your family’s crock pot was on constantly? And things didn’t get burned?

    KBella: Anything to mask the clashing scents of my neighbors’ cooking!

    Beach Bum: The only problem with a pressure cooker is that you have to be there monitoring it – I would not be comfortable leaving one of those unattended!

    vvk: My mom didn’t really use hers – but those soups sound so tasty! And anything that can be prepped in advance would probably work for me…

    Jen: Mmmm… chili. I will take you up on that!

    restaurant refugee: Well, it’s nice to know that it’s not just for the amateurs. If anything, Crock Pot makes us sound like a society of cannibals who eat crotchety elderly persons, or something. The name makes me giggle, at any rate.


Leave a Reply

