October 2, 2009

You cannot make me care today

Posted in *cringe*, Guilt, The Aaaarrrghhhhh! at 8:37 am by Dagny Taggart

I got to bed late, courtesy of playing last (and winning, at least).  I fell asleep reasonably quickly, but 5 hours is still only 5 hours.  And I want more.  I want to go back into my absolutely perfectly comfortable bed – seriously, everything was perfect this morning – temperature, noise level, super comfy sheets, even my blanket was exactly the right amount of heaviness to make me feel all cozy and sublimely comfortable.

And yet, I am not in bed.  Today I will work.  Because I have to, because of mortgage and student loans and enjoying things like food and detergent for those comfy sheets and blanket.  But you cannot make me care today.

So I’m not gonna.

4 Comments »

  1. Early day? Leave at four? Happy Hour? Anything to which you can look forward?

  2. vvk said,

    You need days like that every now and again. I’m having a similar day today… because screw it, the last two weeks of the fiscal year were crazy. I need to clear my head for a few days. Hopefully Monday I’ll care again… if not, there’s always Tuesday.

  3. Alias Faux said,

    I fail to understand why this is classified under guilt.

  4. Lisa said,

    It doesn’t work for every day, since really, it could get you fired, but I do think this is a very healthy attitude at work sometimes.


Leave a Reply

