October 7, 2009

Oh, so THAT’s how we’re going to be

Posted in Project: Fail, The Aaaarrrghhhhh!, The Gnomes, The Small and Petty, The WTF at 8:23 am by Dagny Taggart

I woke up, showered, dressed, and packed my things.  I turned off my climate control, made sure the lights were off, and locked my door.  I was in pretty good shape, having apparently missed the morning rain, and made it to the Metro in a timely fashion.  I thought I was doing pretty well.

What I am certain of, is that I left the house this morning with a muffin and a banana, and I got to work with no banana.  The banana was sitting towards the top of my bag when I packed it, the better to avoid smushy spots.  And now it is gone.

Maybe someone was annoyed because I’d gotten a seat.  And maybe they were even more annoyed that I was taking full advantage of my seat by leaning my head back against the wall and closing my eyes.  Maybe someone was just hungry, and thought I looked like I could do without those 85 potassium-filled calories.   Maybe Monday’s pole-leaner was exacting his revenge by sabotaging my healthy heating plan.

But my banana is gone, and with it, a little bit of my faith in my fellow Metro commuters.

2 Comments »

  1. miss. chief said,

    maybe you dropped it.

  2. miss. chief: I thought of that – but the top of my bag is usually four or five inches above the top of my stuff – it would be pretty hard for the banana to have fallen out. Either way, there are certainly worse things!


Leave a Reply

