October 9, 2009

Last night…

Posted in 8-ball - pool not narcotics, Nerdiness, Project: Fail, The Happy, The Small and Petty at 7:15 am by Dagny Taggart

…I left my place at 6, and spent an hour contemplating the finer points of a 4-mile stretch of Lee Highway.  Have I mentioned that I love this town?

…I was teased mercilessly by my teammates, because it’s just their way and there’s an Irish Napoleon with a crush on me.

…I was not in the mood to deal with the Irish Napoleon, who seems to have a hard time figuring out that when a woman answers in mono-tone and -syllable, she’s probably not interested.

…my teammate was kind enough to act like a very protective boyfriend type, so that I could practice in peace.

…I played last, again, making for another long night and another 5 hours’ sleep, at best.

…I beat a 6.  And I might be stupidly tired and I might be a zombie at work all day today, but I’m a smiling zombie.  I needed that.

4 Comments »

  1. Beach Bum said,

    I have no idea what “beat a 6” is, but it sounds like a good achievement! So, congrats! There’s nothing wrong with being a smiling zombie 🙂

  2. Lisa said,

    I don’t know what that is either, but clearly it’s good! And I like the smiling zombie idea, actually.

  3. Brian said,

    Way to go, beating a 6.

    And why was 6 afraid of 7?

  4. Beach Bum: It *is* a good thing, when you’re a 3! But this craving for brains is just weird.

    Lisa: Excellent – the next time we’re both smiling zombies, we should be smiling zombies together.

    Brian: Thanks! 6s are also afraid of 7s because 7 is the highest ranking you can have.


Leave a Reply

